These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Help a Freestyler n00b with footswitch control?

Questions regarding general external control forum.
tjobrien21
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
FreeStyler Version: 0
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Twitter: twitter.com/

Help a Freestyler n00b with footswitch control?

Post by tjobrien21 »

Hey folks,

I'm a Freestyler n00b, but I'm an engineer and quite technically inclined. I'm trying to use Freestyler to control lights for my band, using a MIDI foot controller to tell it what I want to happen during and between songs. So far, I have the following set up and working:

ART X12 MIDI controller. It has buttons which send MIDI channel change requests. Those are translated in software to note up/down messages.
USB -> MIDI cable.
PC and Enttec Pro DMX interface.

Software-wise, Bome's MIDI translator and a virtual MIDI cable are running to translate the MIDI control messages. These may not be necessary in the end, but I couldn't get Freestyler to listen to the channel change requests my footswitch sends out and do what I wanted. This arrangement at least has them communicating, and responding to repeated presses of the same button if necessary.

SO, at this stage, I can toggle a blackout from the foot controller. Believe it or not, it feels like a big accomplishment, lol. :) At least I know the hardware is all working together now.