These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
jjthomas
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: January 2nd, 2022, 8:09 am
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by jjthomas »

I'm using FreeStyler 4.1.1 on Windows 10, connected to ultraDMX Micro Interface using DMXking USB DMX512-A interface. The fixture I'm writing about is DJ Lights Moving Head U`King Mini LED Moving Head Light RGBW.

When I use my Rockford Rockville ROCKFORCE 384 Channel Fog DMX Lighting controller, I set channel 7 to zero, the fixture stays on. When I set Freestyler, channel 7 to zero, the fixture strobes. I have two fixtures and the result is the same for both fixtures.

I'm not sure this is a bug or a setting error on my part.

Any suggestions on how to set FreeStyler so the light stays on and does not strobe?

Thank you.

-JJ


Jan_K
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1154
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 9:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: Beta
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Nordjylland, Denmark

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by Jan_K »

One way to debug the issue id to open the output window in FreeStyler.
There you can see what FS is sending to your fixture.

And then you need to match it with the addresses / dmx table on your fixture.
Remember there may be an error in the fixture file so it may be an idea to use the right side faders during debugging.
jjthomas
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: January 2nd, 2022, 8:09 am
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by jjthomas »

Thank you. I'll give that a try. I'm building a fixture file, via Fixture Creator, it will help me to understand how the process works. I did not how to debug, I'll give that a try, as well.

-JJ
Jan_K
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1154
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 9:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: Beta
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Nordjylland, Denmark

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by Jan_K »

Simple suggestion on how to debug.

Connect only 1 fixture.
Check that the address in FreeStyler and Fixture are the same.

Use the right side faders to check that the fixture does what is listed in the DMX table.
light on, pan tile movement and the last channel specially to check the mode

Check if the fixture profile works correct.

If the fixture profile doesn't work then compare the output value with the fader value and with DMX table
jjthomas
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: January 2nd, 2022, 8:09 am
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by jjthomas »

Thank you. I am having to RTFM (Read The Fine Manual). Having the DMX output window helped solve the strobing problem. The way the fixture was set up, FreeStyler could not send a "0". I rebuilt the fixture from scratch. That solved that problem. :)

-JJ
RobTjotji
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 5
Joined: January 6th, 2022, 8:26 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1Go
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by RobTjotji »

How do you delete a message?
I found the answer in another post.
Thanks anyway.
jjthomas
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: January 2nd, 2022, 8:09 am
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: FreeStyler strobes light, Rockford Keeps the light on.

Post by jjthomas »

I'm an old SYSOP, from CompuServe... very old... But I would just add a single line to the end and say I fixed it, and put up the solution.

Hmm I see that I didn't do the best job, above.

What I did was set the off option to 1 like as follows:
FreeStyler012422FixStrobe.png
-JJ
WOW my attachment sucks...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”