I am trying to make my setup as friendly and quick as possible for volunteer operators at our church, and I'd like to set it so that the submasters (all or just some) are automatically set to full when the program first runs - like the master fader does.
Is there a way to do this?
If not normally, then perhaps with LuaFS?
Set submasters to full on startup automatically? [Solved]
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
- lindsayward
- Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
- Posts: 89
- Joined: 05 Apr 2013, 00:54
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
- I Use FreeStyler for: Church
- lindsayward
- Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
- Posts: 89
- Joined: 05 Apr 2013, 00:54
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
- I Use FreeStyler for: Church
Re: Set submasters to full on startup automatically?
Bump... Anyone know if this is possible? Either easily or with programming.
I have not found much online about LuaFS (only what's in the archive and is 2 years old). Does anyone here use LuaFS?
I have not found much online about LuaFS (only what's in the archive and is 2 years old). Does anyone here use LuaFS?
-
- Moderator
- Posts: 950
- Joined: 18 Sep 2012, 21:32
- FreeStyler Version: None
- I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Re: Set submasters to full on startup automatically?
I don't think it is as it kind of working like a lighting desk in a way, you have to tell it what you want so that means you're in control of putting the "faders" up as when you need them. It would be useful like you in some respect to have them save the values and do what you want. I find the master intensity is useful to be a 100% on startup as I've used lighting desk in an venue and forgot to put the grand master up making myself look like an idiot 
I will have a nosy around FS and if I come across anything, I'll let you know

I will have a nosy around FS and if I come across anything, I'll let you know

- lindsayward
- Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
- Posts: 89
- Joined: 05 Apr 2013, 00:54
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
- I Use FreeStyler for: Church
Re: Set submasters to full on startup automatically?
This seems like something that could be included: startup values for different things.
Perhaps in the ini file, these startup values could be set.
Perhaps in the ini file, these startup values could be set.
- Spirit
- Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
- Posts: 1421
- Joined: 10 Jul 2010, 20:55
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
- I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Re: Set submasters to full on startup automatically?
hi
therse is a "Startup value" also a "shutdown value"
but i think you realy like to have the Sm.int on 100%
because the "Startup value" goes back to 0% if you use Run a submaster..because the slider is on 0%
/spirit
therse is a "Startup value" also a "shutdown value"
but i think you realy like to have the Sm.int on 100%
because the "Startup value" goes back to 0% if you use Run a submaster..because the slider is on 0%
/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance
- lindsayward
- Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
- Posts: 89
- Joined: 05 Apr 2013, 00:54
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
- I Use FreeStyler for: Church
Re: Set submasters to full on startup automatically?
I have not found a startup value for submasters (only fixtures). Where is this?
- lindsayward
- Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
- Posts: 89
- Joined: 05 Apr 2013, 00:54
- FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
- I Use FreeStyler for: Church
C# Solution
OK... I downloaded Mattotone's Visual Studio project (viewtopic.php?f=38&t=2184) and wrote a simple C# console application that does what I want (set the first 5 submasters to full intensity). Here it is if anyone is interested. It waits until FS is connected and then sets the values. I'm thinking if there are any other initial settings I need to set, I can use this. It's a 10KB application (including the dll) so pretty light on.
Code: Select all
using System;
namespace FreeStylerStartup
{
class Program
{
static void Main(string[] args)
{
Console.Out.WriteLine("Waiting for FreeStyler");
while (FreestylerConnection.sender.freestylerConnected() == 0)
{
// wait for 3 seconds
System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(3000);
Console.Out.Write(".");
}
Console.Out.WriteLine("\nConnected. Setting up FreeStyler");
// iterate through the first 5 submaster and set each one to full intensity (255)
for (int sm = 465; sm <= 469; sm++)
FreestylerConnection.sender.sendCommandFunction(sm, 255);
}
}
}