These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Questions and discussions regarding the 3D Visualiser Software incorporated with FreeStyler. The software is provided by Sunlight.
Forum rules
Sunlight is the creater of Magic 3D Easy View we can try (the forum users) and help with any problems you have with the version provided with FreeStyler but remember this is a 3rd party program and not made by the FreeStyler Developer.
explosivejarvis
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 2
Joined: September 6th, 2014, 5:52 am
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by explosivejarvis » September 6th, 2014, 5:57 am

Hi All!! I opened easy view from freestyler like normal and added the same fixture to both sofwares but whenever i do something to the fixture (i.e. turn it on, move positions, change colors) nothing happens in easy view. Whats wrong? This is really pissing me off because it says that easy view is being controlled by freestyler. HELP!!

-explosivejarvis



spud1511
FS is my life
Posts: 253
Joined: April 9th, 2012, 10:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Location: London
Contact:

Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by spud1511 » September 7th, 2014, 11:13 am

You could test it with a single channel par can to make sure communication is ok, and that easyview shows freestyler connected with green light in corner.
Otherwise if you have any playback windows (like submasters, cue list, etc) open or override buttons pressed then the live output comes from them and not the bits you move.

Seems like a p.i.t.a. to start with, but once you get your head round it it's actually really useful being able to create basic colour schemes or scenes on the fly.

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 4th, 2015, 11:13 am

Hey Spud, I can't seem to get Freestyler communicating either. Maybe it's because i am using XP still. I have tried the windows 7 fix (in an earlier post). Great bit of software by the way!

Nathanrs93
Moderator
Posts: 915
Joined: September 18th, 2012, 9:32 pm
FreeStyler Version: None
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Chesterfield, UK

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Nathanrs93 » April 4th, 2015, 2:16 pm

If I remember correctly xp should be one of the easiest ones to get running, vista was the most annoying. What problems are you facing, Rosspunk?

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 8th, 2015, 7:37 am

When I launch Easy View from Freestyler it shows that it is controlled by freestyler, but there is no DMX. I have the virtual dmx option selected in freestyler. Should i get a drop down option in the dmx universe in Easy View?

Nathanrs93
Moderator
Posts: 915
Joined: September 18th, 2012, 9:32 pm
FreeStyler Version: None
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Chesterfield, UK

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Nathanrs93 » April 8th, 2015, 12:08 pm

If you have no DMX then that's the MEVP protocol link between FS and 3D view. You need to make sure you have your interface on virtual interface in FS setup and you have copied the files correctly like it says in windows 7 fix. That's it :)

If you are still having trouble I can do a video call over skype and help you if you want?

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 9th, 2015, 10:13 am

I will try again tonight. When i have unzipped the MEVP file and replaced the existing file do i also need to unzip the other 4 'sample' files within the MEVP folder?

Nathanrs93
Moderator
Posts: 915
Joined: September 18th, 2012, 9:32 pm
FreeStyler Version: None
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Chesterfield, UK

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Nathanrs93 » April 9th, 2015, 5:47 pm

- In the Magic 3D Easy View beta folder, extract the contents of MEVP.zip to your FreeStyler folder, overwriting files when prompted.
-Copy EasyView.exe from the Magic 3D Easy View beta folder to your FreeStyler folder (overwrite the old one when prompted).

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 11th, 2015, 3:14 pm

I have now tried this twice. Maybe we could talk. How about tomorrow?

Nathanrs93
Moderator
Posts: 915
Joined: September 18th, 2012, 9:32 pm
FreeStyler Version: None
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Chesterfield, UK

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Nathanrs93 » April 11th, 2015, 10:32 pm

Yeah, tomorrow is fine as I'm in all day

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 21st, 2015, 4:09 pm

Tried everything, now getting the hump. :(

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 357
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by buttza » April 22nd, 2015, 5:26 am

Are you on XP?

You could try the windows 8 Fix that I am working on. I will try add it tonight. Using the Microsoft Loopback Network Adapter. (It is a Virtual Adapter)

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 357
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Loopback Setup!

Post by buttza » April 22nd, 2015, 6:43 am

Hi I need someone to try this tutorial to see if it works for you. Thanks.
Loopback_setup.pdf
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Rosspunk
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 9
Joined: April 4th, 2015, 11:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DropTheBiscuit

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Rosspunk » April 23rd, 2015, 7:41 am

Buttza, Yes I am still on XP.

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 357
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by buttza » April 28th, 2015, 4:36 am

Hey Rosspunk you could try the instructions I created below. It should work for XP.

viewtopic.php?f=56&t=6406

Polsound
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: May 9th, 2015, 3:45 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Polsound » May 9th, 2015, 4:24 pm

hey there guys

i seem to have an issue with my win7 and running easyview. all problems came up after upgrading from XP. yes, ive tried the win 7 fix, downloaded and installed everything as it should be but the FS doesnt seem to communicate with 3D. its says that it is controlled by FS and the DMX is on in ECO mode. still nothing.

also, im not sure if its win7 or videocard or setting problem but on the stage the screen doesnt load up the video normally only on the right upper corner of the screen and not on full screen mode. what the hell is this?
pls pls pls help!
this whole thing is going on my nerves.
any suggestions?

many many many thanks for the answers

Nathanrs93
Moderator
Posts: 915
Joined: September 18th, 2012, 9:32 pm
FreeStyler Version: None
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Chesterfield, UK

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by Nathanrs93 » May 9th, 2015, 7:16 pm

Have you tired doing it the way Buttza in the post above??

danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » May 23rd, 2015, 11:47 pm

I am having a similar problem , I'm on windows 7 , dmx is on virtual , load it from fs patch basic par cans , line up patches , dmx light is red in right corner , ??? ,really need some help on this one , totally doing my head in , I also have another laptop I tried to run this on , on the second laptop , MeV won't even launch from fs ,


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 357
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by buttza » May 26th, 2015, 4:55 am


danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » June 3rd, 2015, 10:48 am

The universe options on mev start up screen are grey and can't b altered , dmx light in right corner is red ?????


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » June 3rd, 2015, 10:49 am

I have followed all instructions



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » June 3rd, 2015, 10:54 am

Image
Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » June 3rd, 2015, 10:55 am

Heeeellllllppppppppp


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

danielvee
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2015, 6:54 am

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by danielvee » June 3rd, 2015, 7:38 pm

Can somebody post the windows 7 fix


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 357
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 2:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: Freestyler not communicating with Magic 3d Easy View

Post by buttza » June 4th, 2015, 1:44 am

See image
Artnet_SM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Magic 3D Easy View”