These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Edit sequences

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
Jackson75
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 28
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:09 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.643
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Edit sequences

Post by Jackson75 » October 28th, 2019, 8:05 am

One of the things I've stumbled upon in hardware based more simple consoles is when a scene (or sequence in freestyler) is created and stored, which contains lots of data for several fixtures, it's like a 'black hole'.
If there is a change somewhere to be done, the entire scene has to be re-done.
Does Freestyler offer a more convenient way to do this?
For example, I want to edit a scene, by just changing fixture #5, DMX channel 234 from value 88 to 99.
In the scene, there are also 7 other fixture programmed which I don't want to change.
How is this done?



Jackson75
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 28
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:09 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.643
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Edit sequences

Post by Jackson75 » October 29th, 2019, 11:38 am

Either I failed to describe my question good enough, or this is actually an issue...

Jan_K
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1111
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 9:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: Beta
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Nordjylland, Denmark

Re: Edit sequences

Post by Jan_K » October 30th, 2019, 6:54 am

Not to be rude but I was just wondering if you have tried to make a sequence in FreeStyler as this the same way you create the sequence and pretty obviously what to do.

Open the sequence in the sequence editor
Step to the scene you want to edit
Select the fixture of fixtures you want to modify and make your changes.
Save the sequence.

/Jan

Jackson75
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 28
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 6:09 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.643
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Edit sequences

Post by Jackson75 » October 30th, 2019, 10:44 am

Thank you

It's OK if you look down on me as a newbie, but if I didn't have tried already what's the reason for posting a question here?

An idea, could be to make it more visible which fixtures getting affected by a sequence, maybe in a list or so.

Jan_K
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1111
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 9:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: Beta
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Nordjylland, Denmark

Re: Edit sequences

Post by Jan_K » October 30th, 2019, 11:43 am

Sorry I am not looking down on you just wondering why you have not figured it out. If you have created sequences in FreeStyler this is relative intuitive what to do.

All fixtures used in a sequence is marked with a orange star.
That is the way to see it.

I think you can benefit from looking in the wiki. :)

/Jan

Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”