These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

Helloo,guys
i just installed Freestyler in Win 10.I copied all the fixture settings,scenes ,etc,from the previous computer (win 7).The program works fine,but the fixtures won"t works properly (like in win7).It looks like in win10 the cues are blending (example: beam on in win7 is strobe in win10),the scenes moving is not smooth,is shaking.

Thank you for your next advices



Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

If you did not use the Freestyler backup and restore function this could be your problem.

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

I tried with back-up,same problem.I think it's an incompatibility between win7 and win10

User avatar
remco_k
Moderator
Posts: 1224
Joined: October 12th, 2008, 11:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: N/A
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Utrecht (Netherlands)

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by remco_k »

beam on in win7 is strobe in win10
You should really check and double check, cause these kinds of problems often have a way different cause than some kind of incompatibility.

Check the driver of your DMX interface.

Start small: Fresh install of FreeStyler, connect and configure one problematic fixture to DMX and in FreeStyler. (Install the fixture file if needed). Test it. If the problem still exists, check the DMX output window if the values are correct.
Developer of the Sound 2 Light application (SL.exe) for FreeStyler: https://www.digiplay.nl/fs
Electronics runs on magic smoke. If it escapes, the electronics won't work anymore!
Need a SHOUTcast stream?: https://www.digiplay.nl

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

thx for advices,

i did everyting you said,it's the same. For example,my wash are not so bright on win 10 like in win 7.I checked the cables,the fixture's values,the output refresh rate.I installed on a 4th win7 (another laptop).Was working first day,than was the same like on win 10

User avatar
remco_k
Moderator
Posts: 1224
Joined: October 12th, 2008, 11:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: N/A
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Utrecht (Netherlands)

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by remco_k »

In that case it seems something is wrong with your fixture file.
Developer of the Sound 2 Light application (SL.exe) for FreeStyler: https://www.digiplay.nl/fs
Electronics runs on magic smoke. If it escapes, the electronics won't work anymore!
Need a SHOUTcast stream?: https://www.digiplay.nl

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

I copied the fixture file from the laptop when it's working fine.It's the same

User avatar
remco_k
Moderator
Posts: 1224
Joined: October 12th, 2008, 11:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: N/A
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Utrecht (Netherlands)

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by remco_k »

karma_audio wrote:
May 19th, 2019, 8:14 pm
...
I installed on a 4th win7 (another laptop).Was working first day,than was the same like on win 10
It was working first, and then it is not:

This is a 97% chance this is caused by a faulty fixture file.
Or 2% chance its a user error.
Or 1% chance the fixture itself is broken.

Put up a test without the fixture file, enter some generic par's and set dmx values yourself to be able to see your light is working properly according to the dmx values you set.
Developer of the Sound 2 Light application (SL.exe) for FreeStyler: https://www.digiplay.nl/fs
Electronics runs on magic smoke. If it escapes, the electronics won't work anymore!
Need a SHOUTcast stream?: https://www.digiplay.nl

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

I double checked again everything.I made an experiment: same set-up (fixtures,dmx cables,same usb to dmx interface,same fixture's files,same interface's driver) and 2 computers: win7 and win 10.When i connect the set-up to win7,everything is ok. On win 10,everything's going crazy: the fixture;s channels is blending, the moves shaking,i have low intensity on the colours...etc

PhantomDj
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 33
Joined: June 23rd, 2017, 8:10 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.49
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by PhantomDj »

Which DMX interface do you use ?
It seems like an issue with the DMX interface drivers to me

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

enttec open dmx.I discovered another user with same problem: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=4072&p=32675#p32675

Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

Try this:
Click on Setup
Click on Freestyler Setup
Click on Advanced
Boost the Output Refresh Rate to 50 fps

Also review this: https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/895 ... -10-a.html

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

yes,i did this,too.Same result

Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

Any possibility you could find a supported interface that does NOT rely on the computer for timing? If so, try that.

Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

Dumb question but how much RAM is on the Windows 10 machine(s)?

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

i'm using an I7 proccesr, 8 gb ram.Unfortunately i have only 2 identical DMX to usb 512 interfaces (rely on the compouter for timing).Works perfect on win7 machine (I3, 4gb ram) ,but with big issues on Win 10 machine (I7,8gb ram).Maybe is something from the driver,a conflict with Win 10

Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

Your profile says you are running Freestyler Version 3.2. If you are could you try the current version, 3.6.49, on your Win 10 machine?

karma_audio
Just started using FS
Posts: 10
Joined: July 29th, 2011, 11:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by karma_audio »

sorry, i didn. t update my profil. I have latest freestyler version on both machines.

Rod_Horning
Moderator
Posts: 697
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 2:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.649
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Rod_Horning »

The only remaining suggestion is to download and install a new driver:

https://www.enttec.com/product/controls ... n-dmx-usb/

User avatar
remco_k
Moderator
Posts: 1224
Joined: October 12th, 2008, 11:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: N/A
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Location: Utrecht (Netherlands)

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by remco_k »

Ok, so since the Enttec Open DMX is heavily dependent of the OS and the computer hardware, you can maybe play around with buffer settings (if present) of the FTDI driver. If that does not help, please restore them to the default state you found them in.

But I'm also thinking of something else, this is a long shot:
You might have a problem with a so called hardware HPET (High Precision Event Timer). All recent hardware has a HPET integrated. You might try to disable it, as HPET can cause 'lags' in specific situations.
But, at the same time my guess is that so many users are using the Enttec Open DMX (or don't they?), if the HPET is really a problem, you would find at least one person somewhere on the net telling about Enttec Open DMX, or FTDI and HPET. I didn't find any.

Disabling the HPET, at your own risk, read here: https://www.mikemartin.co/system_guides ... timer_hpet

And, yet another thought, also a long shot. Just this week I was investigating a totally other problem, a performance problem on my laptop (nothing with FreeStyler, I was trying to record multichannel audio). I found out my CPU speed was constantly adapted according to my use. (Windows taskmanager, tab Processor, section Speed). This is - of course - a power saving function. But I had my power connected, so why bother saving it. I - need - speed - now. But it slows the system down quite a bit, especially when rendering the screen. Since you also run on a laptop, maybe yours also has speed throttling enabled. And just maybe its a big problem for DMX.
After I disabled this CPU speed throttling (read: setting it permanently to its maximum speed in Windows advanced power settings) I suddenly got a waaay more responsive laptop.
https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/use- ... windows-10

A lot of maybe's and mights here. Did you notice? :lol:
You might solve your problem with all or one of these 3 ideas. Or you might not.
If you decide to test these out, please do one at a time, so if one of these is the solution, you can post it here and other users can benefit from it.
Developer of the Sound 2 Light application (SL.exe) for FreeStyler: https://www.digiplay.nl/fs
Electronics runs on magic smoke. If it escapes, the electronics won't work anymore!
Need a SHOUTcast stream?: https://www.digiplay.nl

tom_host
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 2
Joined: June 25th, 2013, 9:33 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by tom_host »

ive got the same problem ... same enntec open dmx on w10 ... and i found that full isnt 255 but 240! after 240 it is steps down ... that cause the problem with not full bright light sometimes it can do strobo cause shutter isnt on 255 etc ...

well after ive noticed that ive done a clean install w10 without driver on usb-dmx (ftdi) ... installed freestyler copy the backup and cancel the automatic updates .... then unpluged the internet connection and isntall offline driver from https://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/D2XX.htm - IT WORKED ! BUT!!!! then ive plugged the internet back on and after few restarts the problem was back ... ive checked the driver and the number was the same that ive gave it to ... dont know what else installed on background that caused this ... im back on win7 where it works fine

maybe the ms .net 3.5 update doing this ... i dont know

btw ive tried it on one computer one hw ... no changes ...

sorry for bad english

Partyman
FS is my life
Posts: 570
Joined: July 11th, 2007, 8:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 364
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/
Contact:

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by Partyman »

I have gone from 7 to 10 on at least a dozen setups and they all work fine, it has to be related to the USB interface you are using. All of my systems are on enttec pro interface.

tom_host
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 2
Joined: June 25th, 2013, 9:33 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by tom_host »

it is 90% drivers ... ftdi ... or something with enttec open for sure

UR12
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 3
Joined: February 11th, 2015, 6:14 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

Re: Freestyler in Win 10 - problems

Post by UR12 »

Did you turn off driver signing in windows 10 before installing the driver?

Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”