These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

GO Monkey - Theater / Band Cue Stack

Discuss Go Monkey here!
Post Reply
6h5c
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 3:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by 6h5c »

Good tip, thanks! I already tweaked the wait-times a bit and adapted some cues to get round cue-times. I'll insert some simple transitions for the ones that don't match. I'm planning to use GoMonkey live at a gig at the end of this month. I think it will work like a charm :)

Ray


chadh
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: November 22nd, 2010, 5:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.2

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by chadh »

Excellent utility to supplement Freestyler's capabilities!

I realize XML structure is largely a matter of personal preference, but I'm anticipating the present XML structure may present some problems as you further grow the application. Several elements of the XML structure are dependent upon their order of presentation (eg,the presence of the loop and endloop items as stand-alone elements, versus containers; the Random, Loop, Fade, and similar elements presented at the same level as the preceding cueName they're intended to modify/describe), and it may be more concise to use attributes instead of full elements where only one instance of the option value would be logical for the element its intended to describe.

Presented only for your consideration (and I want to make it clear to everyone else this is NOT valid XML for Go Monkey; don't use this as an example when you're trying to script Go Monkey!), here's how the "Jonny Be Good.xml" file included in the current November 2010 example might be restructured:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>

<GoMonkey>
	<!-- 

As XML can have only a single top-level node, using a container like "GoMonkey" permits use of more types of child elements in the future, like application configuration options, in addition to cues. 

	-->

	<ApplicationOptions>
		<!-- These are just examples of what ApplicationOptions might be used for in future versions. -->
		<CueDefault waitsec=10 />
		<SequenceDefault random=true fade=true loop=true restore=true sound=false />
	</ApplicationOptions>

	<!-- The Cues element contains all the Cues and CueLoops. -->
	<Cues>
		<Cue description="Pre Show" waitsec=1 halt=true>
			<!-- All the Sequences within a Cue will run concurrently. -->
			<Sequence name="red" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
			<Sequence name="sine" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=false />
			<Sequence name="test" fade=false restore=false sound=false />
			<Sequence name="test" fade=false restore=false sound=true />
		</Cue>
		<CueLoop iterations=4>
			<!-- All Cues contained within a CueLoop node will iterate in order. -->
			<Cue description="StagePreshow" waitsec=1 halt=true>
				<Sequence name="test" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
				<Sequence name="sine" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
				<Sequence name="test" random=false fade=false restore=false sound=false />
				<Sequence name="test" fade=false restore=false sound=true />
				<Sequence name="test" fade=false restore=false sound=true />
			</Cue>
			<Cue description="BANG BANG WEST" waitsec=1 halt=true>
				<Sequence name="red" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
				<Sequence name="sine" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
			</Cue>
		</CueLoop>
		<Cue description="LALALALa" wait=1 halt=true>
			<Sequence name="red" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
			<Sequence name="sine" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
			<Sequence name="test" random=false loop=true restore=true sound=true />
		</Cue>
	</Cues>
</GoMonkey>
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

The xml structure has been something iv been meaning to look at.
The parser i created was based on a basic tutorial and that's how the xml files became so fragmented using multiple elements vs the attributes. And as you have picked out the XML structure are dependent upon their order of presentation and has caused issues before when items have been missed out they lose their order.
The defaults are currently in go Monkey but can easily be changed to be read from the xml file.

By changing to your notation it should help with the GUI i have planned.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
6h5c
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 3:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by 6h5c »

Cool! 8-)

And after that? A graphical interface like the FS cue-stack with drag-and-drop! :D
User avatar
wardomon
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 134
Joined: November 22nd, 2010, 5:58 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by wardomon »

Mmmmm... Drag-and-drop... Yummy! Call me a Luddite if you will, but that's a feature that would make me try to use the Monkey. I looked at the XML file, there was a whooshing sound as it went over my head and I closed it. I can't get my mind around programming languages. Plus I type really badly, so one misplaced comma and all the magic smoke will leak out of my computer. I'm amazed at those of you that can. The graphical interfaces that I've seen are more confusing still. Give me a way to drop my cues into the line-up and I'm on board.
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Something like this? :D
goMonkeyDragDrop.png
Tonight's the first time iv looked at drag and drop and it seems to be quite easy to implement.
Not finished yet but was curious to have a go at it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
wardomon
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 134
Joined: November 22nd, 2010, 5:58 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: GO Monkey (Multi) - Theater Cue Stack

Post by wardomon »

You're going to be a superhero, you know. Standing next to that nuclear reactor paid off, or was it the spider bite, or the crashed alien space ship?
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
lhunter17
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 40
Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 6:37 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/dnshaw18
Location: hereford, england

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by lhunter17 »

Hi matt
i am just trying to get to grips with the coding to use this, in the first post of this topic, it says "<Cue>white</Cue> <- this must be a valid sequence name Cue"
but in the Johnny be good.XML it uses "<cueName>red</cueName>"
Which is correct?

also what does <restore> do??

Thanks a lot
Setup:
SOH USB-DMX512 module
Samsung N102 Netbook
FS 3.4.8
User avatar
LJ_krede.dk
Moderator
Posts: 1028
Joined: October 29th, 2007, 8:01 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: Aalborg (Denmark)

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

"Red" and "white" are just examples of cue names... you could save a cue with the name "car" if you want and type that in the XML. it will still work :D

you just have to save a cue with a name, and then type the same name in the XML file.
/LJ_krede.dk
Aalborg, Denmark
Moderator, Supporter and Bug report manager for the FreeStyler community
Found a bug? Submit a Bug Report
lhunter17
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 40
Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 6:37 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/dnshaw18
Location: hereford, england

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by lhunter17 »

i didnt mean the red/white, sorry i meant to <Cue> <cueName> difference
Setup:
SOH USB-DMX512 module
Samsung N102 Netbook
FS 3.4.8
User avatar
LJ_krede.dk
Moderator
Posts: 1028
Joined: October 29th, 2007, 8:01 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: Aalborg (Denmark)

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

ahhhh,,, read your post too fast. sorry :-(

the cueName is the right one to use... you should rely on the "johnny be good"example if you are in doubt.

the <Restore>true</Restore> is the same feature as in the cue window in FS. this configure if the specific fixtures in the sequence should go back to the "old" DMX values after the sequence is finish running
/LJ_krede.dk
Aalborg, Denmark
Moderator, Supporter and Bug report manager for the FreeStyler community
Found a bug? Submit a Bug Report
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Front page updated with latest syntax
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
lhunter17
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 40
Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 6:37 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/dnshaw18
Location: hereford, england

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by lhunter17 »

ok, i am trying to program a cue stack for an upcoming show, i sort all my sequences into folders with several sequences having the same name but in seperate folders, gomonkey seems to have a problem with me putting something like "<cueName>LEDJ wash\c-change</cue>" but it seems alright with "<cueName>tunnel light<cuName>" does this mean i need to move all my sequences into the main folder and change all their names?? or is there a way to specify sub-folders. if not, maybe put in the next version
Setup:
SOH USB-DMX512 module
Samsung N102 Netbook
FS 3.4.8
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Quickly looked into this, Go monkey does pass the correct variable via send message to FS i.e folder/cue.chb
however fs also displays this as folder/cue.chb and this is where i think the issue lies with FS. Il contact raph with the issue and see if he can resolve it in the next release.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
lhunter17
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 40
Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 6:37 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/dnshaw18
Location: hereford, england

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by lhunter17 »

Oh right, i was using back slash (\), should i have used forward slash (/)??
Setup:
SOH USB-DMX512 module
Samsung N102 Netbook
FS 3.4.8
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

@Mattontone - I've had a play around with GoMonkey as you suggested - I am getting an overflow warning when I set up..?

I've installed GM into the Freestyler folder - and an xml into the same dir. I've entered my cue into FS and saved. GM picks up the xml but shows an overflow error?
Any ideas what this is?

My cue is - 3 steps...
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Also now got a file not found error... ?
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Can you mail me a zip of ur xml file and your sequences used. Which app is displaying errors fs or gm?
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Thanks Matt, attached is the zip of xml and cues.

Hopefully I've included them all - look forward to your response.

Thanks again.
Rich
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Sorry forgot to answer your other question - well I can run the sequence in FS fine, I'll then run it in GM and reports an overflow error - as does FS if I go back and play it from there..

R
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

found your error.

<cueName>Spec On</cueName> file not found.

didnt exist in the list of ques you sent me, removed that and no error.

now the overflow error message is coming from freestyer and can be replicated without GM

the sequence 21stCent when set to restore original values produces this error if two or more sequences are running and you try to stop it.
prob best to recreate the sequence.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Thanks Matt, I recreated the XML and removed 'spec on' cue however still got the error. Traced it to the YellowSine.chb! What I don't understand is that it's finding the other scene I have within a folder in 'chases' but not finding this one. My folder structure is FS/Chases/(then I have fixture folders like the one Yellow Sine is in, i.e.)Scanner Moves/ I hope this ok?

Also I'm getting some odd midi response from GM, sometimes working then won't pick up anything.. Am I setting it up correctly? (start midi, click inside box to assign, then press a pedal to send the midi note.. ) I have the pedals working in FS but for some reason won't work in GM!

Sorry for all the questions and I really appreciate the time and help you've provided.

Rich
User avatar
wardomon
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 134
Joined: November 22nd, 2010, 5:58 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by wardomon »

Mattotone: I know you're swamped with a million projects, but how's 'drag and drop' coming along?
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Just going back to programming the xml... I need some help on the following:

You mention:
"<Halt>Yes</Halt> <- if halt is set to Yes then the cue wont advance after its wait time and will wait for the operator to press go" Can I use this for each cue and not just at the head of the xml to affect the whole of the sequence?

and:
"To have multiple cues fired at the same time, just add the next 5 parameters for each cue." Is there a way I can code both in the same xml? I.e. steps such as:

1 - <GO>Intro sequence - Scanners Fan out towards audience in white (i've programmed as 1step cue)
2 - <GO>Slow fade of 4 Orange floods.(programmed as a 2step cue)
<Cue holds if we're not ready to advance - maybe a press of the go button to get to the next part?>
3 - <GO>LED Chase (1 cue)/Scanner Chase (1 cue) (both firing together)
<Scenes (step3) repeat until the next part of the song - maybe a press of the go button to get to the next part?>
4 - <GO>All Lights Fade Out (1 scene)/Floods Fade in (1 scene) (both firing together)

etc etc ... hope that makes sense? Let me know if not - I'm sure GM can do it - and it's just my inexperience in the xml...

Rich
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1222
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Gm is designed to do exactly that.

if we look at the xml you sent me ilo add how to do it

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>

<Sequences>

<cue>
<Wait>0</Wait>
<Halt>true</Halt>
<Description>21st Century Breakdown</Description>

<cueName>Intro21stCent</cueName>
<Random>false</Random>
<Fade>true</Fade>
<Loop>true</Loop>
<Restore>true</Restore>
</cue>
<cue>
<Wait>0</Wait>
<Halt>true</Halt>
<Description>21st Cent mix</Description>

<cueName>21stCent</cueName>
<Random>false</Random>
<Fade>true</Fade>
<Loop>false</Loop>
<Restore>true</Restore>

<cueName>YellowSine</cueName>
<Random>false</Random>
<Fade>true</Fade>
<Loop>true</Loop>
<Restore>true</Restore>


<cueName>LEDYelChase</cueName>
<Random>false</Random>
<Fade>true</Fade>
<Loop>true</Loop>
<Restore>true</Restore>

<cueName>Spec On</cueName>
<Random>false</Random>
<Fade>true</Fade>
<Loop>true</Loop>
<Restore>true</Restore>



</cue>

</Sequences>

as you had all your sequences inside one cue it just played them all together, which is great for layering multiple sequences together. you can have upto 20 sequences.

but by splitting the sequences like i have we now have to cues in the list, you can have as many cues in a list as you want.

Regarding the midi. I have found i can only assign my midi device to one application at a time so that mite be your problem too!
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
Post Reply

Return to “GO Monkey - Theater / Band Cue Stack”