These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Questions regarding general external control forum.
Post Reply
User avatar
Uriahdemon
FS is my life
Posts: 266
Joined: August 18th, 2012, 10:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: south Wales, UK
Contact:

Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Uriahdemon »

Hi, I have set up my touchscreen for FS and everything is working as it should so very happy with it. The only thing that is not working so good is I have some override buttons set up as flash buttons. On touching they do not work. It takes about 7 or 8 touches before I get a flash.Any ideas please...???



User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Spirit »

hi this depant on the touchscreen you use.
sometimes you can change how a Finger press works..

Most time it works as.
Fast press = Left mouse button
Long press = Right mouse button

but with the software or windows congifurations you can change what a finger press does.
it all depants on the touchscreen.


/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

User avatar
Uriahdemon
FS is my life
Posts: 266
Joined: August 18th, 2012, 10:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: south Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Uriahdemon »

I have spent some time on this today and still I cant get it to work. When I use a mouse its great but just not touch. I was wondering if anyone else uses the Dell St2200T touchscreen or any touchscreen and have managed to get the flash buttons to work....??

Rgds

User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Spirit »

i tried it on 3 differnt types of touchscreens but it doesnt work realy well.

ELO 15" touchscreen ( old way of useing Touch)
Ilyama 22"touchscreen ( with IR touch system )
Packard bell laptop 13" ( new type of touchscreen, same as Smartphones)

/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

User avatar
Uriahdemon
FS is my life
Posts: 266
Joined: August 18th, 2012, 10:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: south Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Uriahdemon »

Thanks Spirit,

I guess I am blowing against a gale on this one. I guess its got something to do with the tolerances/activation periods within the FS software (I dont know the right terms). Do you think it worthwhile submitting this as a bug....??

Rgds Mac

User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Spirit »

hi

you can alllways try is.
if you not try it you will nver know it.

/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

User avatar
Kings
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 194
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 5:51 am
Twitter: twitter.com/

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Kings »

I have the same problem with the touchscreen so I bought a Nano midi controller. The midi controller is great for overrides and responds instantly. Everything else is on the touch screen for ease of use. I've used a couple of LightJokey touch screens and they also have the same problem.

User avatar
Uriahdemon
FS is my life
Posts: 266
Joined: August 18th, 2012, 10:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: south Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Uriahdemon »

Hi, is this the controller you have -
http://www.gear4music.com/Recording-and ... -Black/G8L

I can only see knobs and sliders do you activate the overrides on those or is there another model with buttons at all....??

Thanks for this as I really do need a way of operating the overrides live.

Rgds

User avatar
Kings
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 194
Joined: October 12th, 2009, 5:51 am
Twitter: twitter.com/

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Kings »

The Korg nano range has three different types. I have the one that looks a lot like a keyboard. Setting it up can be tricky but you must remember to download the Korg set up software. This will allow you to adjust the unit so that a pushing a button will send out the maximum midi signal. FS will only respond to the max which is 127 I think and nothing less.

User avatar
Uriahdemon
FS is my life
Posts: 266
Joined: August 18th, 2012, 10:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: south Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by Uriahdemon »

Thanks. I have had a look on the forum for some guidance in setting this up with FS but cannot seem to find anything. Is there any guidance on the site that you are aware of to guide me through setting up....??

oldschool87
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 2
Joined: March 23rd, 2020, 9:19 am
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting

Re: Override FLASH buttons - Touchscreen Issue

Post by oldschool87 »

i've same problem! it's a bug or it's a configuration problem?

Post Reply

Return to “General Midi Controllers”