These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Building a custom desk running Freestyler!

Questions regarding general external control forum.
stuv
Has mastered Fixture Creator
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Twitter: twitter.com/

Building a custom desk running Freestyler!

Post by stuv »

Hey guys,

Just though i would pop in here and let you know of my plans, and see if any good ideas pop up from any of you along the way.

I have been using Freestyler now for about 2 years, for everything form night clubs, to theater, to corporate shows and stage shows; with setups from 12 channels of dim up to 30+ intelligent fixtures. I use it on a weekly basis, and find it to be the best designed DMX software around (i even prefer it to most lighting desks and often opt for it over a hog/grandMA).

Anyways, I usually use freestyler in conjunction with a behringer BCF2000, and have started to think to myself that it would be great if the controller were better layed out for my use of freestyler. As such my idea has evolved to my current plan to custom build a console surface designed especially for Freestyler. Below are my ideas and plans as they currently stand:

> 2 x 17" touchscreen LCD's (organised to purchase OEM touchscreens without casings for approx AUD$650)
> Full laser cut alluminium casing with typical wedge shape design and increased angle for screen components
> Two internal PC's networked with KVM swith for right monitor to switch between extended display on PC1 or single display for PC2
> need second PC running with remote control software anyway to utalise both touchscreens on one PC