These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Master /Slave or what?

Discussions concerning DMX gear in general.
Kai-Uwe
DJ
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/

Master /Slave or what?

Post by Kai-Uwe »

Hi,

at this time i only use all my fixtures with different adresses. So now i got a question about the Master /Slave Modus. Maybe i can get some free some DMX-Adresses....

When i put a fixture in Master Modus und another one ore more of the same type in slave Modus can thy be in the same DMX-Chain? How do they "know" with fixture is the Master? For example: 4 Scanner (Adress 1-7) (1 Master and 3 Slaves) and 4 LED RGB (Adress 8-12) (1 Master and 3 Slaves) in the same DMX-Chain. Did that work on one DMX-Line? did the Slave Scanners "know" that they have to "listen" to the Master-Scanner and not the the Master LED Lamp?

Or what does Master/Slave mean?

Greetings Kai-Uwe

Vista - Virus Inside Switch To Apple
LJ_krede.dk
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?

Re: Master /Slave or what?

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

I think yo have understand Master/slave correctly: one Master controls the slaves.

But i dont think it is a good idea to connect two different masters on same chain. the master is sending dmx values to the slaves on certain channels. if both of your Master is using the same channels, the second master on the chain may overwrite the first master. to be sure I will suggest you use separate chains for each type of lamps

any ways you can do some test and se ow it works: