These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Help newbie light with limited space

Discussions concerning DMX gear in general.
silver
Knows how to turn Lights ON

Help newbie light with limited space

Post by silver »

Hi first off this is my first attempt at lighting. My wife's birthday is coming up in March and we rented a VFW hall. The main hall is roughly 48 feet long and 24 feet wide. Right against the wall, the ceiling is 8.5 feet tall but goes up to ten feet high a few feet off the wall. We are having a Rockband/Singstar party. Something we've done before in the backyard - which is drag out the DLP projector, point it at shower curtain and have singing battles all night long. Since it's my wife's birthday I thought I'd try to kick it up a notch and add some kickass lighting.

I have so far purchased 2 DMX RGB LED PAR64 cans and a fog machine and plan to use freestyler and a DMX-USB cable. But I'm not sure how to layout the space. Basically I want to have 2 microphone stands with mics and projection screen in the center. Maybe a small 1 foot high stage for each singer.

I was thinking of buying one of those LTS-30-T 9ft high - 10 ft wide trusses with a 5 foot extension for truss and put it on one side of room and shoot lights across the 24 foot room, but since I can only put the lights up 8.5 feet in the air, I don't think this will work with people in the room. So my next thought was to put that same truss either right in front of the roughly defined stage area or directly behind it with 2 par cans, fog machine, and a couple scanners positioned symetrically on each side.