These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

GO Monkey - Theater / Band Cue Stack

Discuss Go Monkey here!
Post Reply
lhunter17
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 40
Joined: March 3rd, 2010, 6:37 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/dnshaw18
Location: hereford, england

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by lhunter17 »

when i have one of the two cues and not the other i don't get the error


Setup:
SOH USB-DMX512 module
Samsung N102 Netbook
FS 3.4.8
User avatar
LJ_krede.dk
Moderator
Posts: 1028
Joined: October 29th, 2007, 8:01 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: Aalborg (Denmark)

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

What does the error message show, if you click on "Detalis"? Are you sure you used the right syntax in the xml?
/LJ_krede.dk
Aalborg, Denmark
Moderator, Supporter and Bug report manager for the FreeStyler community
Found a bug? Submit a Bug Report
Vauzelle
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 5
Joined: January 4th, 2011, 7:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Theater

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Vauzelle »

Hi I just downloaded GM and extracted it in a directory under My document. Now when I try to execute it , I have the error message 0xc000135. I have the ThoughtWorks.QRCode.dll file in the FreeStyler directory. My FreeStyler is in a directory under the root not under My document. I am using XP-pro on an IBM Thinkpad.
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

hmmm. im a little unsure what is missing as Go Monkey doesn't require any external DLL files.
And your reciving the same error as you do with TCP IP Server. im asuming the problem will be down to your dot net runtime version.
try http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/d ... DA479AB0D7
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Hi all, any one tell why I can't run a FUF off the back of one of my sequences?

I'm running a chase on all fixtures.. (Red Fade in Wash on front Floods / Blue Wash on rear floods / PAR's on Random Chase)...

Running all through GM - as soon as I stand on the next step (FUF) everything just fades out... there's no FU!!

I've changed around a few options and made sure I have no sneeky fades/snaps on during sequences - but I can't find anything wrong...
R
User avatar
musicboy71
Just started using FS
Posts: 11
Joined: January 18th, 2011, 3:24 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.2
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Location: Crown Point, Indiana

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by musicboy71 »

Brand new to GM, and I'm at a loss. What program should I be using to create the XML files? Sorry for the noob inexperience, but I am just not getting anything to work, and I'm sure it's a simple fix.
User avatar
Funderian
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: September 19th, 2009, 5:10 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: Lithuania

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Funderian »

Musthave plugin for FS, but is there a oportunity to play music file(mp3, wav, ogg etc.). I think it would be very nice feature making it complete. Or maiby i havn't find it yet? ;)
Think Light!
User avatar
LJ_krede.dk
Moderator
Posts: 1028
Joined: October 29th, 2007, 8:01 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: Aalborg (Denmark)

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

musicboy71 wrote:What program should I be using to create the XML files?
any text or XML editor can be used. Personally i like the Notepad++ editor but it does not really matter what you use.
the best way to get the hang of GM look at the XML examples which follows with the GM zip file and see how the GM itself behave when running the files (close FS when you do this, otherwise you get a lot of "file not found" messages (not a bug)). then make some some (test)sequences in FS, and try to make a simple XML file. I alway use the copy/paste method from the XML examples.

Also read some of the previous posts in this topic.. some may give you some guideline and/or answers
/LJ_krede.dk
Aalborg, Denmark
Moderator, Supporter and Bug report manager for the FreeStyler community
Found a bug? Submit a Bug Report
User avatar
musicboy71
Just started using FS
Posts: 11
Joined: January 18th, 2011, 3:24 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.2
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Location: Crown Point, Indiana

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by musicboy71 »

Thanks! I actually have read everything over about 10 times, but I read another 10 times and downloaded Notepad++ (Thanks!). Now I actually have a decent grasp on XML. I don't use GM exactly as intended, but I have it working for what I need.

Thanks for the help!
Womble
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: February 24th, 2011, 2:15 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Womble »

Fs seems great and very powerful for 'band and music' events and events that can be 'time controlled' however I am mainly involved with amateur stage groups and as good as they are, there is no way they can keep a scene to a set number of scenes! I have looked at many of the freely available downloads and either they wont work with my dongle (Velleman DIY build from Maplin) or they don't have a 'Go' button.

GM seems just like the thing that I have been looking for in Fs for a long time and could allow me to have my own 'lighting control system' that I can get to know inside out without spending out £000's

Electronics, I can do however when I comes to computer programming I am totally lost and reading through this thread has only confused me more (sorry). Is it possible to get a simple download of GM and 'laymans' instructions as to how to get it running within Fs please.
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Hi Womble... really easy to get the hang off after the first couple of tries... as you may have seen from some of my posts - I was completely lost at the start - I had a play around - created some scenes in FS and then took a look at the sample xmls to see what was going on - after a bit of trial and error I worked it all out and am now running a whole tribute show lighting from GM - this Sun we'll have a production rehearsal so I'll try and get some video for you all...

If you want any specific help - I'll be more than pleased to pass on wisdom learnt from the guys here to start you off... :o)

Feel free to drop me a PM as well and we can always speak on the phone if you want?

R
User avatar
musicboy71
Just started using FS
Posts: 11
Joined: January 18th, 2011, 3:24 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.2
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Location: Crown Point, Indiana

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by musicboy71 »

Totally agree with what is said above! 3 days ago I was lost. Now at least I know my way around XML thanks to looking at examples and the great suggestion of Notepad++.

This is how I use GM, as a DJ, I want to be able to have a light show with constant variety without having to constantly change scenes. I am focused on the music, and just want the lights to do their own thing. Here's what I have done...

I created 20 different sequences to start. Each sequence looks a little different from the next based on color, gobo, movement (shape), prism, etc...

Next, I load the sequences (up to all 20) as separate <cue>'s in GM, as I don't want the sequences all firing at the same time. I set the wait time on all the <cue>'s as 5, 10, 15 etc...(depends on the sequence). I set <Halt> to false, as I want to <cue>'s to run one after another without my input. Next I copy all those <cue>'s in XML, and paste, but this time set the <Random> so that the sequences themselves look slightly different even though they are in the same order.

Now, this show all put together will give me almost what I'm looking for (close enough at least). Actually, if FS allowed a "Cue List" to loop, or allowed advancement from one "Cue List" to the next, I probably wouldn't be going through this trouble.

I would like to see GM allow me to enter and recognize .fcf files in addition to .chb files, as this would give me even more flexibility. I would then be able to create FS Cue files built using the submasters in FS. Building sequences right now is quite time consuming.
Mavi
LJ
Posts: 267
Joined: March 30th, 2010, 1:19 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Germany

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mavi »

I meet with someone today who asked for help. They installed some LED Par inside a building, every one behind a different window. Now they wanted to have a show wich runes during the mornings and evenings for some hours. I remembered the GO Monkey and after a litte try we were able to translate there show to an XML file. But then two questions raised up.

First off all, the show ist supposed to start over again and again - untile someone stops it. So it is possible to set a loop to "infinity" or do we have to enter a very high number and "reset" everything until that number of itterations is reached? If so - what would be the highest possible Number?

Secondly, there are options for random, fade, loop, restore - but is there also an option for reverse? This would be realy helpfull. There is a fade-in-sequence and it would be helpful to run this reversed instad of programming an other fade-out-sequence.
I know, my english is not the best. If you have any problem to understand you are welcome to give me englisch lessons
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Hi mavi, if you meant the sequence IS supposed to start over and over again. The sequence so long as you have the <Loop> set to false will run until you stop it.

Not sure on the reverse. I guess it would be possible but would probably need programming.

Hope that helps?
Mavi
LJ
Posts: 267
Joined: March 30th, 2010, 1:19 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Germany

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mavi »

The problem is not to loop a sequence, but to loop the complet set. I created an xml-File with the the show and wrapped the show by
<Loop><Iterations>100</Iterations></Loop>
<endLoop></endLoop>

This is fine for testing, but as as I said, the show is suposed to start over again and again. So I wanted to know about the maximum number for itterations or if there is a way to set this to infinity.

If it is possibly to create a statment to send the reverse command, that would be very nice. There are commands for or the other buttons. So it would be a logical step to add reverse as well. But thats just my two cent ;)

Thanks to you anyway for helping!
I know, my english is not the best. If you have any problem to understand you are welcome to give me englisch lessons
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Iv added your request.
Maximum loops is 9998 if set to 9999 this will infinite loop.
<Reverse>true</Reverse>

Download avail in first post
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
Mavi
LJ
Posts: 267
Joined: March 30th, 2010, 1:19 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Germany

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mavi »

Realy GREAT THANKS for implementing those request such fast!
I know, my english is not the best. If you have any problem to understand you are welcome to give me englisch lessons
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Spent an hour or so on this tonight.
Its rough around the edges,Partly untested so give us some feedback.

TODO: Add Loop support.

BUG: XML contains full filepath, rather than file Name that FS expects! FIXED

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-yoWQyBJfk
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

any takers???
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
bluestarprod
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 38
Joined: January 12th, 2011, 10:30 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Band
Location: Northamptonshire
Contact:

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by bluestarprod »

Just seen this. Can't view the video on an iPad so will look when I get the chance and I'll have a look at the drag and drop file aswell.

Let you know asap.
Rich
User avatar
wardomon
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 134
Joined: November 22nd, 2010, 5:58 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by wardomon »

Matt: I have the cues already built. Does it only control chases/sequences? Would I have to go back through every tune and rebuild everything?
A little knowledge is a dangerous thing.
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Im building the XML Loaded as we speak so the next release will be able to load Go Monkey XML Files.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

I have revived this email from a member:
Hello Mattatone,

I hope its ok if i contact you this way. i was in contact with mavi who
helped me with our problem, and you were so kind to add a reverse and
infinite loop function to Go Monkey. however, i cannot get it to work
properly (reverse playback). i copied the xml script below, if you need
this to check. the loop consist of 3 steps, a buildup phase (scene1, 252
steps, 628 sec), a pulsing loop phase (600sec) and a build back phase
(scene3) which is scene1 played backwards. but when go monkey plays scene3,
it just starts with step1 of 252 and then stops, instead of starting with
252 and go reverse. do you see where i made a mistake here? or is there a
special trick? in the Go Monkey window frame ist says V4, is it possible
that V5 is not available yet?

really sorry to bother you with this, but our lighting show needs to run
the whole nicht, from dusk till dawn, and that means we have to manually
start it every four hours or so...
To help other members it seems Freestyler has a bug where if you have a sequence set to reverse but only play once. Then the sequence will play and stop on the first step in the cue.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1218
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by Mattotone »

Update: Now able to load existing XML file:
Please remember loops are not supported, if your xml contains a loop it will be removed when you export your list to XML.
loops should be continued to be added manually.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
LJ_krede.dk
Moderator
Posts: 1028
Joined: October 29th, 2007, 8:01 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.7
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: Aalborg (Denmark)

Re: GO Monkey - Theater Cue Stack

Post by LJ_krede.dk »

Mattotone wrote:I have revived this email from a member:
Hello Mattatone,

I hope its ok if i contact you this way. i was in contact with mavi who
helped me with our problem, and you were so kind to add a reverse and
infinite loop function to Go Monkey. however, i cannot get it to work
properly (reverse playback). i copied the xml script below, if you need
this to check. the loop consist of 3 steps, a buildup phase (scene1, 252
steps, 628 sec), a pulsing loop phase (600sec) and a build back phase
(scene3) which is scene1 played backwards. but when go monkey plays scene3,
it just starts with step1 of 252 and then stops, instead of starting with
252 and go reverse. do you see where i made a mistake here? or is there a
special trick? in the Go Monkey window frame ist says V4, is it possible
that V5 is not available yet?

really sorry to bother you with this, but our lighting show needs to run
the whole nicht, from dusk till dawn, and that means we have to manually
start it every four hours or so...
To help other members it seems Freestyler has a bug where if you have a sequence set to reverse but only play once. Then the sequence will play and stop on the first step in the cue.
this should be reported in the bug tracker so it can be fixed
/LJ_krede.dk
Aalborg, Denmark
Moderator, Supporter and Bug report manager for the FreeStyler community
Found a bug? Submit a Bug Report
Post Reply

Return to “GO Monkey - Theater / Band Cue Stack”