These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.

Connection Problems: Software and Help

OLD ANDROID FORUM
User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

remoteTest.png
If your having connection issues with IOS or Android remote, post the ouput here for help
Freestyler Remote Connection test.rar
Designed for windows 7 may work on other OS.

Common Issues

Unable to reconnect / connect
Occasionally Freestyler will block incoming connections, due to a previous connection not disconnecting cleanly. I.e Wifi Dropout, To Resolve right click on the connection icon and press diconnect All
disconnect.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

docspool
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 5
Joined: September 19th, 2012, 6:58 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by docspool »

Here is my report...
Image

Thanks

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

Your problem appears to be server side, have u changed the port fs listens on? Is any thing else using that port? Can you see a remote symbol on the top right in freestyler?
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

JamesLS
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 18
Joined: October 11th, 2012, 8:54 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/JamesLS
Location: Ireland (Republic)

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by JamesLS »

How would we change the port FS is listening to?

I ran the test software and FS connected for about 2 minutes on port 3332 but then changed to port 42673 and will not connect anymore.

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

JamesLS wrote:How would we change the port FS is listening to?

I ran the test software and FS connected for about 2 minutes on port 3332 but then changed to port 42673 and will not connect anymore.
you need to change it back to 3332, currently there is no option for the remote to use a different port
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

maddog18476
Just started using FS
Posts: 13
Joined: January 30th, 2012, 4:47 am
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by maddog18476 »

I have two machines. A desktop and a laptop. Both run Windows 7 Ultimate and both have this as the report.

1: FreeStyler Running
2: Computer Accepting LOCAL Connections on Port 3332
3: local server ip address is 192.168.1.10 <-- Laptop IP ".14 <--- Desktop IP
4: Windows firewall Running: True
5: Windows firewall freestyler Found: True
6: Windows firewall port open: True

My phone is a Galaxy s 2 running Android 4.0.4 with Freestyler Remote Pro.

I can connect to the desktop no problem. However I can not connect to my laptop at all. Even when I set the IP address. Any ideas?

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

does your laptop have any other security software running?
if so disable it,then in FS check that the remote icon in the top right corner is not showing before you connect if it is right click Disconnect All.

The report shows that both machines are contactable, run the report software on your desktop and type in the laptops ip in the box labeled Freestyler IP Address then press Remote test.
This will test if the laptop is blocking the port externally.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

syffiks
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: July 1st, 2014, 10:32 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.4
Twitter: https://twitter.com/syffiks67

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by syffiks »

Hi! Could not connect to Freestyler DMX 3.5.7 with Android smartphone. What the settings? Best regards, German.

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

Run the test and upload the results
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

User avatar
Amnesia
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 17
Joined: June 9th, 2009, 7:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: many
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/AmnesiaHardcore
Location: Germany

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Amnesia »

Same problem for me!

1: FreeStyler Running
2: ERROR:: Computer NOT Accepting LOCAL Connections on Port 3332

I can see no possibility to change any ports in FS

Error persists even if i disable the Windows-Firewall!
I can see the BT-Icon in FS-Software, my tablet shows"Freestyler BT" in status connected



Please help.

Amnesia

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

if your running bluetooth then firewall is not the issue.
run the tool without the bluetooth server running, as FS can only accept one connection at a time. although i expect this not to be the problem.

If the app says it is connected, what issue re you having as you havn't said?

EDIT As you have refunded the app, i assume you no longer require help?
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

cardinale23
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: October 14th, 2014, 9:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.5
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by cardinale23 »

hi I did the test and everything, but should not be ... the program gives me the icon that is connected but in ipad iphone tells me that the error that I do?

eMHa
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 3
Joined: August 21st, 2012, 4:56 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.8
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by eMHa »

Hey,

I'm using Freestyler for a while. I updated to the X2 Version 3.5.7

I want to control Freestyler with the Android remote App (Pro or Lite, both installed on Smartphone)
But in the top right corner of Freestyler there is not the little remote icon. And the phone is not able to connect to Freestyler.

These are the results of the test programm:
1: FreeStyler Running
2: Computer Accepting LOCAL Connections on Port 3332
3: local server ip address is 192.168.0.25
4: Windows firewall Running: True (----> I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security not the Windows Firewall.)
5: Windows firewall freestyler Found: False
6: Windows firewall port open: False

What can I do to get Freestyler connected and controlled remotely?

Thanks a lot in advance and best regards,
eMHa

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

Your will need to open port 3332 in both windows and your kaspersky firewalls.

4: Windows firewall Running: True (----> I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security not the Windows Firewall.)
5: Windows firewall freestyler Found: False
6: Windows firewall port open: False
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

hanily
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: November 17th, 2014, 7:05 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.7
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by hanily »

Open port 3332 in both windows and kaspersky firewalls, that's enough for solving the problem ?





____________________________________
etui iphone 6 plus etuicoquesamsung
Last edited by hanily on April 1st, 2015, 5:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

That should fix it yes.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

potents
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 10:21 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by potents »

Hi Matt.
Freestyle pro works fine until I connect laptop to router for artnet. Does it work with artnet?
Cheers
Pete

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

Iv never used artnet before so unable to verify. but as long as your phone/tablet is on the same network and ip-range it should* work.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

potents
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: March 10th, 2009, 10:21 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Church

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by potents »

Hi Matt.
I think that might be the issue. Does the artnet and freestyle need to be on same IP range even though one is WiFi and other is land
Cheers
Pete

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

Il email the dev of freestyler and ask his opinion.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

heres the developers reply
Matt, If I understand it right, he sends artnet over his wired network and he uses wifi to receive tcp/ip commands.
This should work, unless he uses the same subnet on both connections.
so it should work fine.

does it work if you disable artnet but leave it all plugged in? I.E use virtual interface?
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

blaide13
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 119
Joined: February 26th, 2009, 6:16 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.0.1
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by blaide13 »

Ok, downloaded the diagnostic tool and here are the results:

1.Freestyler Running
2. computer accepting connections on port 3332
3. local ip address is 192.168.1.14
4. Windows Firewall running true
5. Windows Firewall Freestyler Found - False
6. Windows Firewall Port open - False


I saw someone else with the same results and you to;ld them to o[pen the port on the firewall. How do you go about doing that? I have no clue.

blaide13
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 119
Joined: February 26th, 2009, 6:16 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.0.1
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by blaide13 »

I tried searching and found "Windows Firewall with Advanced security" Tab and went to "rules" and freestyler x2 was set to "Any" on the port. i tried changing it to 3332 but when i hit apply i got an error message. can you provide for me and others a step by step walk through on how to get the ports right? That does seem to be my issue based on an earlier post from someone here.

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by Mattotone »

http://www.howtogeek.com/112564/how-to- ... -firewall/

Create a new inbound rule.
set as a port rule
set port as tcp 3332
allow connection
select all 3 domains
save
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

blaide13
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 119
Joined: February 26th, 2009, 6:16 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.0.1
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Connection Problems: Software and Help

Post by blaide13 »

Hi Matt,
Ok got everything set and reading correctly on the FS remote test except item #5 which says: Windows Firewall Freestyler found: False. I can't seem to figure out how to get to the setting so that I Windows Firewall can find freestyler. I'm running Windows 8.1 by the way.

Locked

Return to “Android.old”