These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

What No Timeline? Read this first.

Make suggestions here for the FreeStyler program.
Forum rules
FreeStyler is made by Rapheal Wellekens there is no other person developing the software so please be aware that adding new features
and changing current ones may require alot of work. You may not get an answer to your request as they are ONLY requests you'll have to keep checking the beta page for new features!
Post Reply

Vote for a TimeLine?

Im Interested
105
95%
Im Not Interested
5
5%
 
Total votes: 110

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1176
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mattotone » April 29th, 2010, 7:50 pm

UPDATETIMELINE ADDON http://www.freestylersupport.com/fsforu ... 448#p14448


A largely requested feature at the moment is a timeline for creating sequences.
Timelines are great for making very complex sequences very easily, it gives greater control over timing and you can visualize how the sequence is going to run.
However Freestyler was never designed to be programed with a timeline, and doing so would mean a massive rewrite of the software which would take a very long time.
The major project at this current time is the second universe, so please remeber that FS is created by one man, in his spare time and for Free.

Raph
Hi Matt

I would like to add such function in FS but currently I don't have the time to add it.
I hope I will someday.

Best regards

Raph
We are very aware of this feature and its benefits and it may be added to the software.
But for now there are a few other priority's and feature enhancements that need to be worked on and no current estimation for when a time-line will be added.
If you do want to show your interest in a time line vote on the poll but please don't post yet another timeline feature request. (Unless its an totally original idea ;) )


Always have your stuff when you need it with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Deploy your next app in seconds. Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c

User avatar
dmxlighting
FS is my life
Posts: 1024
Joined: August 11th, 2008, 11:46 pm
FreeStyler Version: beta
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?
Location: London and South UK
Contact:

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by dmxlighting » April 29th, 2010, 8:43 pm

Matt

I had to unlock this thread as you cannot vote when its locked.
Freestyler DMX - Pissing over the competition since 199x
What do you want for free ?

Freelance Lighting Programmer / Sound Engineer / Designer / Installer and General All Round AV Expert

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1176
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mattotone » April 29th, 2010, 8:44 pm

ok, thanks
Always have your stuff when you need it with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Deploy your next app in seconds. Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c

User avatar
stuv
Has mastered Fixture Creator
Posts: 34
Joined: August 13th, 2007, 8:33 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Twitter: twitter.com/
Location: Australia

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by stuv » April 30th, 2010, 3:08 pm

I am partially
Interested (voted I am Interested), however as a quick fix i would recommend a time-line plug-in that allows for virtually limitless scene's and chases to be activated (and probably de-activated) on a time-line. I know this is possible in a cue, however a cue is limited to 20ish Scenes/Chases. Having a time-line with virtually limitless number of scene's/chases and possibly the option to have multiple running simultaneously does not seem overly complicated within the realms of the software and would be a nice intrum feature.

I would also like it to be noted that I would much prefer access to a Second Universe over any time-line control. A second universe would make it so much easier to push freestyler in a professional environment and also greatly improve the features of my Lighting console I am building that runs Freestyler as it's primary control software.
:fs:

Mavi
LJ
Posts: 267
Joined: March 30th, 2010, 1:19 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Germany

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mavi » April 30th, 2010, 3:27 pm

I voted "no" because I do not need a time line (yet). i use freestyler most of the time for controlling the lights live. Mostly I stand next to a DJ and since I do not know what song is comming at what time I have to react to the music just as it comes out of the speakers ;)

But the think about a plugin could perhaps work. As I know it is possible to send commands to FS by external software (for example the iPhone/iPod application does). But it is not possible to get data back from FS. I think there could be a plugin which cann tell FS "starte sequence 1 at .., stop sequence 7 at ...". Of course this would not be a full working time line, but it would be a workaround wich could be easier programmed instad of rewriting the hole FS software to bring in a full working time line. Perhaps those of you who are experienced in programming plugins and know how the FS interfaces work could say same words if this thought is possible?
I know, my english is not the best. If you have any problem to understand you are welcome to give me englisch lessons

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1176
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mattotone » April 30th, 2010, 4:26 pm

the time line as an addon for Running cues is perfectly possible, I thought the idea of the time line was to aid in creating the cues.
It wouldn't be difficult to play different sequences at timed intervals, i have a theater stack add-on which does just that. The most time consuming aspect is creating the time line control its self.
Always have your stuff when you need it with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Deploy your next app in seconds. Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c

juanquy
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 4
Joined: May 21st, 2010, 2:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by juanquy » May 29th, 2010, 4:13 am

Im Interested, vote positive , timeline is a great tool

jonny b good
Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
Posts: 86
Joined: May 2nd, 2010, 9:15 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Where do I start?

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by jonny b good » May 29th, 2010, 2:14 pm

Mattotone wrote:the time line as an addon for Running cues is perfectly possible, I thought the idea of the time line was to aid in creating the cues.
It wouldn't be difficult to play different sequences at timed intervals, i have a theater stack add-on which does just that. The most time consuming aspect is creating the time line control its self.
I think you wiill find most people want a timeline to create their sequences, as they have a track they listen to and then they can stretch/shrink a light(s)/effect whatever over a period of time before doing the next sequence/effect or whatever.

Can be done the other way, to launch user created sequences but I bet that is not what they want and personally that is not what FreeStyler is about.

Maybe people should learn how to use FreeStyler and other programs that do not have a timeline if not then go and buy one that does. Maybe I am just saying that they are lazy, just my 2 cents worth :roll:

User avatar
Pmarten8
LJ
Posts: 58
Joined: December 11th, 2010, 10:01 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.3.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: http://twitter.com/looneychoons
Location: England
Contact:

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Pmarten8 » December 17th, 2010, 9:15 am

Time line Ideas

1.) Make time line so can drop audio track to it
2.) Make time so you can drop your Sequances in to as well

This will give greater control of how you cue sequences to music make it lot easier to produce that professional looking light show

Should look at windows live movie makers time line this is great example and so simple to produces great looking videos to music

How i can picture it looking
My graphic skills in paint are not the best so sorry about graphic
Image

roeleke
LJ
Posts: 9
Joined: July 22nd, 2007, 6:02 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.2.8
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by roeleke » January 24th, 2011, 8:33 pm

Does Anybody know how the communication works between freestyler and the 3D viewer. I will tray to let communicate freestyler with the timeline editor from sunlite.But I don't know how I must let them communicate?

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1176
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mattotone » January 25th, 2011, 10:19 am

Freestyler accepts commands via send message, the documentation for these commands are available in your program directory. I don't think that the current command set will make this an easy task.
Always have your stuff when you need it with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Deploy your next app in seconds. Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c

djhomero
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 4
Joined: May 27th, 2011, 10:52 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.0.2

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by djhomero » December 13th, 2011, 10:05 pm

no doubt is what is needed for a light show at a club, or event .... in this way would be fine Pmarten8 ... and what good would that all work sequences to be overlapping, bony one above the other, for example, if three sequences one above another, the three continue to operate at the same time ..

ninenorth
Just started using FS
Posts: 13
Joined: August 3rd, 2007, 10:27 pm
FreeStyler Version: 2,95f

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by ninenorth » July 2nd, 2012, 8:35 am

The timeline is a matter that NEEDS to be in a great program like freestyler. I am one of the first testers - users of the program and the first thing I asked for was (and still is ) a timeline.

User avatar
buttza
FS is my life
Posts: 355
Joined: January 7th, 2010, 3:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Twitter: twitter.com/@buttza
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by buttza » June 4th, 2013, 6:46 am

I am pretty sure that Ableton Live can do this function using midi triggering. I am testing it now. You will need to configure your midi channels to show up as notes or assign numbers to each aspect. Still testing and will let you know. ;)

edoerfel
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 54
Joined: September 2nd, 2013, 4:59 am

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by edoerfel » October 19th, 2013, 9:58 am

PLEASE add a timeline! I am currently trying to create a live light show for a band and it would beso much easier with a timeline so I could create it to a click track and songs. I am currently trying to decide between freestyler and chauvet showxpress. Showxpress has a timeline which is great but I love the way freestyler works so much better! So this makes me sad....

edoerfel
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 54
Joined: September 2nd, 2013, 4:59 am

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by edoerfel » October 19th, 2013, 9:59 am

I would PAY to get a timeline added. I would pay hundreds...

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1176
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Mattotone » October 19th, 2013, 8:47 pm

Only the developer can add a time line like you require,
This is because sequence creation and fixture attributes are not exposed via a API.
3rd party developers can add a time line for the play back of pre made cues

Matt
Always have your stuff when you need it with @Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Deploy your next app in seconds. Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c

kittmaster
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 190
Joined: September 24th, 2012, 9:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.2
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Contact:

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by kittmaster » October 28th, 2013, 3:30 am

The this should be added to the bug tracker to bring to dev's attention as a feature request......I like the idea.....while the sequence creator is nice, it's sometimes hard to see the big picture without 3d viewer running and if your on a single monitor like a laptop, is a real bear to be productive.

jdmyers
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 28
Joined: July 30th, 2013, 4:48 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.4
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by jdmyers » October 28th, 2013, 8:51 am

I don't know that I have a use for time-line editing/ triggering myself, as I tend to do a lot of on-the-fly stuff alternating between having a Cue stack running either in sequentially or concurrently playing the sequences, while accenting or triggering other lights using the over-rides and other controls/functions with a MIDI controller.

But I have thought it would be nice to have shows to sync to some video or laser stuff I have been playing with, and an idea I've come up with (but only have planned in my head) is to possibly use Reaper (a DAW program, and a killer one I have found so far - but I digress...)

I have thought about using Reaper as a playback list or stack, where each track would have a song (or video) in it, or a series of songs/videos (sort of a playlist).

Set up a track or tracks with your song/playlist selections, and set up a MIDI control track for each A/V track.

You would program in your MIDI triggers and commands / value changes in each track (using Automation, even, to record your MIDI controlled real-time moves, as you "play" the effects); or do this in a MIDI track associated with the audio (and/or video) track if not able to do it within the A/V track.

For playback, you could just mute all tracks except the A/V and MIDI tracks for your selection. (Alternately, just "solo" them both but this all depends on how your playback hardware is set up.) As your song selection plays, the MIDI track will trigger your light show at the points you select.

An alternate or combined method could be to use SMPTE (video timecode) or MTC (Midi Time Code) or some other such time-code synchronization to control the Freestyler clock which might have timed sequences and cues to play back on its own, but that is something I need to look into further myself.

While not being an "integral" part of the software as far as a timeline goes, this method could work with just about any DAW software you are comfortable or familiar with, possibly making its integration that much easier since if you already have a song production setup, (for original music, for example), you'd just have to add the control track for the lights to your currently existing and under-construction mixes.

*** I use Reaper as an example (and in practice) because it's real cheap (with an extremely generous evaluation period), and it's real small and fast so it will run well in the background, along with all the extra plugins and being cross-platform (versions for Linux and Mac as well as PC). Your mileage may vary as to what software you might ultimately use and the performance hit it may cause to your system... ***

kittmaster
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 190
Joined: September 24th, 2012, 9:14 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.2
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ
Contact:

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by kittmaster » March 23rd, 2014, 12:50 am

Anyone have any updates on this feature? I think it would be a great feature to have!

User avatar
pingusso
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: February 4th, 2013, 10:25 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by pingusso » April 9th, 2014, 12:49 am

Timeline would be really wonderful !

All of us would like to see this feature raising .
(even those that didn't vote the pole yet )
As our moderator "Mattotone" explained, it would mean a massive rewrite of the software,
and we have in hands a fantastic software... for FREE !!!
Although impatient, I don´t care to wait for it.
The big problem is that I don't see around any rumor about Timeline beeing in the mind of our beloved developer, in a short/medium term.
Thousands of people are using Freestyler, but the pole has only 65 votes !!! :shock: ( by today 9 April 2014 )
If I was the developer I would think there no BIG interest on it !!!
So guys & gals...
Let's push... voting and encouraging the "boss" !!!


:fs: :D :fs:

Alexi
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: November 6th, 2017, 12:06 pm
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: What No Timeline? Read this first.

Post by Alexi » December 27th, 2017, 8:56 pm

Timeline 👍

Post Reply

Return to “Ideas and Remarks”