These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Couldn't open midi out, rc =...

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
stompinne
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 20
Joined: September 28th, 2007, 4:33 pm

Couldn't open midi out, rc =...

Post by stompinne » June 3rd, 2019, 1:18 pm

Hi, i do get this message when working with freestyler and midi-controllers.
"Couldn't open midi out, rc =..."
This occurs when i start freestyler after starting Virtualdj.
How to solve this problem?



Partyman
FS is my life
Posts: 537
Joined: July 11th, 2007, 8:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 364
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/
Contact:

Re: Couldn't open midi out, rc =...

Post by Partyman » June 4th, 2019, 3:30 am

It is looking for a midi device that was once connected or selected. Go into:
Freestyler setup
External Control
Midi Devices
Make sure they are set to "no input" and "no output" for both slots
hit save
close and restart Freestyler
problem should be solved

PhantomDj
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 27
Joined: June 23rd, 2017, 8:10 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.4
I Use FreeStyler for: DJ

Re: Couldn't open midi out, rc =...

Post by PhantomDj » July 3rd, 2019, 9:43 am

Also inside VirtualDJ you can select a MIDI device and choose "Ignore"
This way VirtualDJ won't occupy the device and it will leave it free for Freestyler to connect

Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”