These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Test TCP/Ip server with postman

Discuss the latest developments or get support for them HERE.
Post Reply
Sdess
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 1
Joined: September 19th, 2016, 12:20 pm
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

Test TCP/Ip server with postman

Post by Sdess »

Hi, google chrome provide an application, postman, witch Can be use to test REST server s.
Is it possible to use it to test the tcp server in freestyler ?

I tried to send the message FSBC001000, with a post access to localhost:3332, using my computer with freestyler launcher, but i have got nothing in Return. In fact, I've got nothing.

Thanks

Steeve


User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1238
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Test TCP/Ip server with postman

Post by Mattotone »

Try comunicating with Freestyler using ascii rather then bytecode
example for blackout FSOC002255
I doublt it will work as Freestyler does not implement Json just raw byte input/output
Freestyler Addons www.120db.uk
Free Dropbox. 2GB account http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
$100 free credit @DigitalOcean Private Server: https://m.do.co/c/5c4a7c7d6693
Freestyler Android App: https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024
User avatar
Laudrin
Can now teach FS to others (Hopefully!)
Posts: 77
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 12:48 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.49
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Contact:

Re: Test TCP/Ip server with postman

Post by Laudrin »

Sorry for reanimating an old thread (sometimes they come back…), but I have the same problem. Not with Opera/JSON, but the TCP answer of FreeStyler.

I already got to work FreeStyler receiving TCP commands via LAN either as Byte or as ASCII, both working fine (I now use ASCII exclusively because I can't find the right way splitting codes above 255 into MSB/LSB). FreeStyler on the other PC receives and executes the commands. The Connection Test is fine, too.

But when I try to request the button captions from FreeStyler, I get no result.

The documentation states as follows:

Code: Select all

Byte Protocol: 9 bytes  
    byte 0: “F” 
    byte 1: “S” 
    byte 2: “B” 
    byte 3: “C” 
    byte 4,5 and 6 : Code (see table) 
    byte 7,8 and 9 : 0 

[Code:]
001  Cue captions 
[…]
examples:  
"FSBC001000" -> You will receive the 20 captions of the current cue (comma separated) 
[…]
This is the Java code I use (for clarity I removed the try/catch phrases):

Code: Select all

address = InetAddress.getByName("Nanako");  
port = 3332;
socket = new Socket(address, port);

InputStream is = socket.getInputStream();
InputStreamReader isr = new InputStreamReader(is);
BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader(isr);
message = br.readLine();
It's the same code I use for sending code, there of course with OutputStreamWriter and BufferedWriter.

I tried br.read() in a loop, too. I get "160" from time to time, but no captions or other text / values.

It seems the documentation is not clear enough or at least ambiguous. I would gladly help overhauling some documentation, as I started in the Wiki.

It has to work, otherwise there wouldn't be apps and adddons using it like your Remote App, Mattotone.

Can someone please help me to get my head around this function? :?
Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler 3rd Party Addons and utilities”