Page 1 of 1

Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 7th, 2013, 8:34 am
by rafaelmagic
Guys,

I am a live performer, I use Winamp to control about 30 mp3s in a live show.

I use a basic led par to light my stage. Its DMX capable, I just never used DMX.

I have been messing with FreeStyler but is their a way that I can have FreeStyler running in the background and Winamp as the active window.

Winamp for example can be in the background, behind multiple applications and the keystrokes are recognized. I just want the ability to have Winamp as active, FreeStyler in the back and be able to control both applications with keys from my keyboard.

If someone can help, I will appreciate it.
Rafael

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 7th, 2013, 8:58 pm
by Hambone
Unfortunately there's not really a way to make FreeStyler respond to keyboard shortcuts if it isn't the active window. Your best bet would be to get a MIDI controller (options include any MIDI capable keyboard, or a dedicated controller like a Korg NANO, or even a footswitch like a Behringer FCB-1010 or ART X-15 UltraFoot) and configure it to control FreeStyler.

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 7th, 2013, 10:08 pm
by rafaelmagic
Hambone,

Thanks for your time.

I like the Midi Controller, If I use a midi device like the Korg Nano can FreeStyler be backgrounded?

Is their a device smaller than the Korg Nano?

Also thanks for the links to the hardware, I only have two led fixtures, no fancy moving lights. The footswitch hardware is impressive but overkill. Though it might be an opition if I ever get more lights.

I am currently looking at a script using AutoHotKey. I will allow a user to send a keystroke to a backgrounded application. Reading tutorials but so far I can't make my script work.

I actually just want to press button on my keyboard and send the hotkeys to the backgrounded FreeStyler.

Does anyone have any AutoHotKey or AutoIt experience or sample script for FreeStyler backgrounded? Or know of a midi device smaller than the Korg Nano?

Rafael

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 7th, 2013, 10:29 pm
by rafaelmagic
Opps forgot to add.

Does anyone know if the Worlde Controller 9 will work with FS??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xUaFQS6a2dQ

Its small and will work for my purposes.

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 8th, 2013, 3:12 pm
by Hambone
Looks like you could do what you want with AutoHotKey (nice find, looks very handy!). Here is a script for you to try - modify it as necessary:

Code: Select all

;Define the way a window's title is matched - in this case, the window's title must start with the give string
SetTitleMatchMode,1

;Create hotkeys
;If the user presses "Alt-a", send "a" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
!a::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
	ControlSend,,a,FreeStyler 512
	return
}

;If the user presses "Alt-b", send "b" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
!b::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
	ControlSend,,b,FreeStyler 512
	return
}

;If the user presses "z", send "z" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
z::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
	ControlSend,,z,FreeStyler 512
	return
}

;If the user presses 1 on the numeric keypad, send 1 from the numeric keypad to FreeStyler
Numpad1::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
	ControlSend,,{Numpad1},FreeStyler 512
	return
}
In this example, we've created hotkeys for Alt-a, Alt-b, the letter z, and the 1 key on the numeric keypad.

I haven't installed AutoHotKey yet and have not tested this script, but it should work. Just change they keys as needed for your setup. I would highly recommend setting modifiers instead of just mapping direct normal keys, because the hotkeys will send to FreeStyler any time you hit them. In the example script above, if you were typing in Notepad while FreeStyler was running, every time you hit the z key it would send to FreeStyler as well as to Notepad - this could be confusing :)

Good luck!

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 8th, 2013, 7:25 pm
by rafaelmagic
HamBone,

That sends a command to FS ONLY when its Active and not when its backgrounded on Win 7.

Im currently looking at this Tutorial for reference for a backgrounded application:

http://superuser.com/questions/368633/p ... 141#371141

I'll mess with it and report back, however I am not a script person. Maybe you can help and take credit for it at the FS Wiki. =)

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 8th, 2013, 8:46 pm
by rafaelmagic
Guys,

Made a minor tweak to the code provided above and it works on my computer. I have WINAMP active, and FreeStyler in background (not active) and it sends hotkeys. Even when FS is minimized.

This will come in handy if your midi controller doesn't work, its a backup.

Go here for directions on AutoHotKey:
http://superuser.com/questions/368633/p ... 141#371141

On Step #4, ignore the webpage and paste the Code below. Save and run (right click). Of course you can modify your hotkeys and the code below.

Code: Select all

;Define the way a window's title is matched - in this case, the window's title must start with the give string


settitlematchmode,2

;Create hotkeys
;If the user presses "Alt-a", send "a" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
!a::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
controlsend,,a, FreeStyler 512
return
}
;If the user presses "Alt-b", send "b" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
!b::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
controlsend,,b, FreeStyler 512
return
}
;If the user presses "z", send "z" to FreeStyler (without quotes)
z::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
controlsend,,z, FreeStyler 512
return
}
;If the user presses 1 on numeric keypad, send 1 from the numeric keypad to FreeStyler
Numpad1::
IfWinExist, FreeStyler 512
{
controlsend,,{Numpad1}, FreeStyler 512
return
}

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: April 8th, 2013, 9:14 pm
by rafaelmagic
Setup:

Download and install AutoHotKey

http://www.autohotkey.com/download/

Create a new Text File, .txt file and Rename it to have the .ahk extension. File in picture named "GetMediaKey".

Image

Right-click the file and select Edit Script

Image

Copy and Paste the Code Above (In Previous Post)

Save

Right-click the file again, this time selecting Run Script

Image

The script is active as indicated in the Windows tray:

Image

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: September 16th, 2022, 5:49 pm
by glafont69
Hello,
A little update to make your hotkeys working in background with freestylerX2 and autohotkey.
See the script bellow.
The only remaining problem is the flash buttons that need a "hold" command.

###########################################################

settitlematchmode, 2


F1::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F1}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F2::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F2}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F3::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F3}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F4::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F4}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F5::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F5}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F6::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F6}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F7::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F7}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F8::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F8}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F9::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F9}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F10::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F10}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

F11::
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F11}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

Numpad1::
IfWinExist, FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {Numpad1}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}
Numpad2::
IfWinExist, FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {Numpad2}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

Numpad3::
IfWinExist, FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {Numpad3}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

Numpad4::
IfWinExist, FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {Numpad4}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
return
}

Re: Backgrounded FreeStyler and Hot keys

Posted: September 16th, 2022, 9:18 pm
by glafont69
Another trick I've been working on tonight.
I have different shows with different speeds that need to have S2L work on divided beats.
Off for high speed shows and divided by 4 in certain shows.

here is a way to change it while you select your show !
#############

F3::
WinGet, hWnd, ID, A ; memorize what window is on top
IfWinExist FreeStylerX2
{
controlsend, , {F3}, ahk_exe FreeStylerX2.exe
IfWinExist Sound 2 Light - 2.0.0.3
{
SetControlDelay -1 ; May improve reliability and reduce side effects.
;select you choice by uncomment
ControlClick, x40 y210, Sound 2 Light - 2.0.0.3
;ControlClick, x65 y210, Sound 2 Light - 2.0.0.3
;ControlClick, x90 y210, Sound 2 Light - 2.0.0.3
WinActivate, ahk_id %hWnd% ;Set back the active window
return
}
else
{
MsgBox, Sound to light Off
return
}
return
}

enjoy !