These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

2 midi controllers is there a trick? Topic is solved

Questions regarding general external control forum.
Post Reply
perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

Hello, I was trying to set up 2 midi controllers tonight, and can't seem to get it to work. Freestyler detects and lets me select the 2nd one, it just will not allow it to learn any notes. I have tried 2 separate ones and still no luck, is there something special I need to do to get it to work on the second one? Thanks so much in advance!!


perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

I have 2 Akai APC mini and a and an Akai MPK mini. I can get one to work just fine. I tried the Midi Ox, but the yoke part wont load on 2 pc's of mine, not sure what I am doing wrong. I have tried separate usb ports and ones run off of a splitter as well Freestyler sees them but I can't program the 2nd one, sometimes it say it can't detect midi output. Any help would be great.
Thanks!
User avatar
djSupport
Hosts the Freestyler Forum and is an Admin!
Posts: 1696
Joined: July 9th, 2007, 6:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.49
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Contact:

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by djSupport »

I've posted this on the FB page to see if you get any better response
Heather Trott, You Babe! [/b] | I Drive a Dacia Duster and Explore! Check it out
perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

Thanks so much for doing that
xever
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 16
Joined: April 26th, 2020, 8:37 am
I Use FreeStyler for: To help others here on the Forum!
Twitter: www.120db.uk
Contact:

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by xever »

Freestyler only accepts one mid-input, so you will have to look at some form of midi merger. Midi-ox/midi yoke is the best way to do this.
Get the Freestyler Remote App
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

Freestyler 3rd Party Addons
www.120db.uk
perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

Man, I could have sworn that you could use 2! I thought I saw that someplace, I will check again, I thought the wiki was outdated, and there is a spot to input 2. I did try midi ox with no success, but I will go through the directions and try again.
perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

I see it now, in version 3.6.3 the ability to use 2 midi boards was added, and there is clearly a space to do it, I just can not figure it out for the life of me
any help with this would be great
thanks so much

2 midi boards.PNG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
djSupport
Hosts the Freestyler Forum and is an Admin!
Posts: 1696
Joined: July 9th, 2007, 6:57 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.6.49
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.
Location: Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Contact:

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by djSupport »

Register on the bug tracker and register it as a bug for the FreeStyler project. The developer may give you more information on this
Heather Trott, You Babe! [/b] | I Drive a Dacia Duster and Explore! Check it out
SiGNe
Possibly Becoming Qualified FS User
Posts: 54
Joined: October 14th, 2012, 7:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.01
I Use FreeStyler for: Home Lighting Control

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by SiGNe »

In setup > Midi control there are two input fields..
Image
perrip
Commited FS Forum helper
Posts: 109
Joined: May 2nd, 2016, 9:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 4.1.1
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: 2 midi controllers is there a trick?

Post by perrip »

Hey Thanks, Freestyler detects and lets me put the 2nd one in the second field, it just won't let the second one learn any notes, any ideas?
Post Reply

Return to “General Midi Controllers”