These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

MIDI Control of Cuelists

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
Codeweasel
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 4:51 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.638
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Codeweasel » January 14th, 2018, 6:54 pm

All,

I hope someone can help me with this. I have been trying to get a stable/repeatable setup for my band so we can control all of our AV from a single laptop. To that end, I am attempting to drive Freestyler from a MIDI channel with Note ON events to trigger sequences in cues.

As there is very little on the web about this, I have decided to go with my gut instinct to try setting up the system using a cue of sequences for each song. So far so good (once I got my head around how to actually build a cue using single step sequences) and I can fire each sequence in a cue from MIDI notes, but.... when I try to select a different cuelist by the "Toggle Cuelist x" MIDI command (EDIT: Or as I have just noticed, by clicking on the Cuelist buttons to the RHS of the Cue dialog), FS activates one or more of the sequences in the cue randomly by itself, which is not good for my purposes.... In fact, it has brought my development of our automated live show lighting to a grinding halt as this is quite literally a "showstopper" for me. I have been trying to overcome this for a week now, but I'm getting nowhere fast.

Please can anyone offer assistance? - We have an album launch in March and I've not even started programming for the first song of the set yet!!! :(

Much thanks in advance

Graham
www.elysiumsky.org



Partyman
FS is my life
Posts: 387
Joined: July 11th, 2007, 8:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 364
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Partyman » January 15th, 2018, 4:25 am

Not sure what the question is but here is a shot at a solution. Under cuelist options (cog wheel over cuelist) there is option to load cue only. Under the sequence options (cog wheel over sequence window) you can select whether one or multiple sequences are run

Codeweasel
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 4:51 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.638
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

Re: MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Codeweasel » January 15th, 2018, 10:05 am

Thanks.

I had read about the multiple sequence option already (both in the sequence options dropdown and also in the main setup options area), but I had not noticed the "Load Cue Only" menu item, so I will definitely try this.

In the meantime, for the interest of anyone following this, I found a bit of a solution late last night...

While messing around, I noticed that if I clicked the cuelist button twice quickly, it seems to cancel out any random sequence activity, so taking this idea to my MIDI stream, I sent the note I had previously assigned to "Toggle Cuelist 1" twice, very quickly in succession and it seems to have worked.

An additional observation is that I shortened all my MIDI notes to the smallest possible length that my DAW (Cubase) would allow - 1/128th note, just in case FS was getting confused by longer Note ON messages. Whether this helped or not, I don't know.

Finally, also FYI, the original random "bug" is still apparent in the latest beta as I had tried to upgrade to see if this would help. - I have posted a bug report to Mantis.

BR

Graham

Codeweasel
Just started using FS
Posts: 12
Joined: December 20th, 2017, 4:51 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.638
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

Re: MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Codeweasel » January 16th, 2018, 11:23 am

Update: Thank you Partyman!!!... your suggestion about "Load Cue Only" worked. I suppose, however, it does raise the question of why is this not the default action and why would one want a sequence to run randomly when a cue is loaded?

Anyway... on with the show... thanks again!

Cheers

Graham

User avatar
Aevarex
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 7
Joined: July 4th, 2017, 5:22 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.4.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Band

Re: MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Aevarex » January 18th, 2018, 12:27 am

Thanks @Codeweasel for asking the question. Thanks also to @Partyman for the answer. Very usefull tidbit of information. I just recently got my lights setup and learned to use my daw with freestyler. Even learned to make fixture profiles for my moving head lights. Going to start this weekend making all the scenes I'll be needing and getting the midi tracks setup. Thanks again!

Partyman
FS is my life
Posts: 387
Joined: July 11th, 2007, 8:39 pm
FreeStyler Version: 364
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Twitter: twitter.com/
Contact:

Re: MIDI Control of Cuelists

Post by Partyman » January 18th, 2018, 6:55 am

Codeweasel wrote:
January 16th, 2018, 11:23 am
Update: Thank you Partyman!!!... your suggestion about "Load Cue Only" worked. I suppose, however, it does raise the question of why is this not the default action and why would one want a sequence to run randomly when a cue is loaded?

Anyway... on with the show... thanks again!

Cheers

Graham
There are many ways that Freestyler can run your light show and depends greatly on the application as to which way is best. Many people make a sequence for each light in their system (whether on or off) and fire multiple sequences at 1 time to create an entire effect.

Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”