These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Novice quick help

Questions and discussions regarding FreeStyler Software.
Forum rules
Please do NOT post bugs here! If you spot a potential Bug please report it HERE first then you can chat about it with other users in the appropriate section.
Post Reply
dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » October 28th, 2017, 5:35 pm

Hi guys ive got 2 chinese style moving head 230w 7r beams. Ive got a udmx dongle but the lamp isnt recognising a dmx signal. Also what should i select in freestyler as the lamp isnt listed?

thank you



Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 29th, 2017, 4:41 am

Make sure you have the uDMX dongle specified in Freestyler setup

Make sure you have your moving heads configured to use DMX. Many of these instruments have built in programs and only respond to DMX if you configure them to do so.

Please post a link to the user manual (or upload the manual itself). Really can't answer your last question without knowing more about the instrument. We can always create a fixture for you if an appropriate one does not exist. (Is this your instrument? http://www.atlasusa.net/public/private/ ... g/230w.pdf)

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » October 29th, 2017, 5:55 pm


Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 30th, 2017, 5:59 am

Attached is my attempt at a fixture for your instrument. Please import it, test it and provide feedback.

After you select it in Freestyler be sure to click on Window All.
You should see the following windows (you may need to move them around in order to see all of them):
Beam Lamp Colors Gobos
pan/tilt custom sliders
and of course the standard Freestyler sliders

A few of the colors are not correct as there was not a definition in Freestyler that matched the manual.

Also, there are 6 channels for which I did not find a definition. These have no labels in the standard Freestyler sliders. If you can tell me what they are I will update the fixture definition.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » October 30th, 2017, 2:03 pm

Thanks very much for that rod. Ive connected the uDMX usb dongle but at the moment the fixture isnt recognising a dmx signal as the DMX light isnt lit. Ive set the DMX channel to '1'. There is only 1 fixture connected at present. Any advice please? thanks

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 30th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Is this of any help?

viewtopic.php?t=5578

Can you obtain a simple DMX dimmer and see if it works with your uDMX?

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » October 30th, 2017, 3:19 pm

that now works with link you posted! Excellent!
Just having a play about with it now, Ive tried putting it into sound to light but the head doesnt really move about, although it does strobe.

thanks again

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 30th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Glad that helped!

Any feedback about the fixture definition will be appreciated.

Have fun!

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » October 30th, 2017, 10:11 pm

are there any built in programs within the program or do I have to create the scenes myself?

thanks

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 31st, 2017, 2:01 am

There is the FX generator (accessed from the sequence editor).

Also look at the plugin SunTrix (accessed from the top menu item Plugins)

Other than that, unless something is programed in the instrument itself you will need to create the scenes.

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » October 31st, 2017, 3:50 am

Also, in the pan/tilt window there is a shape generator and editor. This will cause the moving head to create the selected pattern.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 22nd, 2017, 5:15 pm

Hi rod when you said.. "Also, there are 6 channels for which I did not find a definition. These have no labels in the standard Freestyler sliders. If you can tell me what they are I will update the fixture definition."

How can I find that out? Also can you tell me if anyone can put me together a program for the fixture - im willing to pay.

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 22nd, 2017, 7:07 pm

This is a good question for which I do not have an answer.

I took another look at the manual. The manual states that, in the configuration menu on the physical instrument, that the instrument can be set to either 16 channel or 20 channel mode. The DMX channel table only lists 16 channels - nothing is said about 17, 18, 19 and 20. Channel 10 and channel 12 simply say NO.

What kind of program are you looking for?

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 22nd, 2017, 11:35 pm

I want to be able to use them for parties so slow colour changing and movement that isnt so rapid as using the sound to light mode as they are spinning all over the place and it's too psychedelic!

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 23rd, 2017, 5:05 am

Here are three sequences and a cue. Try them and see if this is the kind of program you desire.

The speed can be controlled via the slider in the Cue

Requirements:
Instruments are configured to 20 channel mode
Instrument 1 has address 1
Instrument 2 has address 20
Cue multi-select is on in the Freestyler setup
dbaplya-cue must be unzipped and placed in the Freestyler Cue directory
dbaplaya-chase.zip must be unzipped and placed in the Freestyler Chase directory
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 23rd, 2017, 2:02 pm

Hi Rod, thanks for your reply, I have downloaded those files but I'm not sure if I am doing something wrong as I cant get the lights to light up. If I press on the 'toggle favorite' button the lights both swivel and face downwards. Apart from that I cant get anything else.
Can you help at all please?

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 23rd, 2017, 9:09 pm

I neglected to set the dimmer channel in the dbaplaya_color chase. The attached file is corrected. Unzip it and replace the prior color chase with the new on in the zip file.

Also, in the CUE make sure the chases are set to repeat.

My apologies for my error.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 23rd, 2017, 11:18 pm

Hi Rod thanks for the reply, ive now got something and the one head (channel 1) is strobing and colours etc but they wont move. I go on to the pan tilt window and move the dot around or click on figure of eight but get no movement. The second head has a DMX light on but I cant get anything out of this one.

The first one has a start address of "1" the 2nd says its start address is 249. Is that correct or should it not be 20?
Thanks

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 23rd, 2017, 11:32 pm

For the cue and sequences I posted the 2nd needs a start address of 20.

Also, in the CUE window run all 3 sequences at the same time. The first controls the movement of 1 instrument. The second controls the movement of the other insturment. The 3rd controls the colors on both.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 24th, 2017, 6:01 pm

If i go onto the fixtures and manually enter DMX "1" on one and DMX "20" on the other I can only seem to control one of the units - the unit on channel 1. If i put them both on channel dmx 1 then they both work the same! Im wondering if this cheap usb dmx unit is to blame.

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 25th, 2017, 3:05 am

Perhaps.

Please verify that you have 2 fixtures added to Freestyler. One fixture should have a starting address of 1 and the other fixture a starting address of 20 (click on top menu item Output -> Show Output. This will open a window that shows the DMX values being sent to each channel) and that the second instrument has been configured via its control panel to start at 20.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 26th, 2017, 2:35 pm

Ive checked all that, and also just added 1 light to test that, several functions dont seem to work, such as i can get it to strobe but not just come on. Ive just done a forum search for others that are using the 230 beam. If any others are reading this with the same light please comment and if you have got it working.

thanks in advance

Rod_Horning
USA! USA!
Posts: 369
Joined: November 16th, 2016, 3:24 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.645
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show
Location: USA

Re: Novice quick help

Post by Rod_Horning » November 26th, 2017, 3:49 pm

Very, very frustrating. If you have the time and are willing lets try a couple of things.

First, using the instruments control panel, set the instrument to 16 channel mode instead of 20 channel.
Run the cue and sequences to see if that makes any difference.
Second, set channel 16 (the lamp reset channel) to a value of 200 (lamp on) and see what that does.
Third, set channel 7 to a value of 7 and see what that does.
Fourth, now set channel 16 to a value of 0 and see what happens.

Obviously I am grasping at straws here and really have no idea what the problem(s) is/are.

dbaplaya
Just started using FS
Posts: 14
Joined: October 28th, 2017, 5:24 pm

Re: Novice quick help

Post by dbaplaya » November 27th, 2017, 1:31 pm

Thanks for your persistence! Ive been on the unit and I think the channel mode is hidden in the Advanced Menu. As unhelpful as the manual is they have failed to say what the password is to enter the menu! It says press "up down up down then ok" this doesnt work and seems to me you have to enter a numerical code.

Post Reply

Return to “FreeStyler Software”