These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.

Midi Input Not Working

Questions regarding general external control forum.
Post Reply
kevinmpeters
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 4
Joined: October 21st, 2019, 12:28 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Midi Input Not Working

Post by kevinmpeters »

Hi All,

I'm finding the midi starting of sequences to be VERY intermittent. I'm sending midi code from an app called Bandhelper through a Tbox 2x2. Most of the time it won't start, it does occasionally. I can see in MidiOX that my computer is receiving the right midi hex

Note On, Note 40, Ch 17, Velocity 127 (9F 28 7F). I'm at a loss for getting this thing working and am about to ditch this software and go learn something else. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

-Kevin

User avatar
Mattotone
Android Dev (Moderator)
Posts: 1203
Joined: July 10th, 2007, 5:30 pm
FreeStyler Version: BETA
I Use FreeStyler for: Just for the Fun of it.

Re: Midi Input Not Working

Post by Mattotone »

In midi setup,
select page independent
click start sequence one
click lern
press a button on your midi controler
press learn again.
press save.
Dropbox. 2GB account is free! http://db.tt/J4c5G8C
Get $100 in cloud credits from @DigitalOcean using my link: https://m.do.co/t/1dfa4b120c4c
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... rts.fs1024

kevinmpeters
Knows how to turn Lights ON
Posts: 4
Joined: October 21st, 2019, 12:28 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.6
I Use FreeStyler for: Stage Show

Re: Midi Input Not Working

Post by kevinmpeters »

Thanks @Mattotone - turns out the issue wasn't learning at all but that FreeStyler basically can't deal with only a Midi Note On - it has to have the corresponding Note Off from my testing. I did a bunch of testing with Reaper and BandHelper and reading the hex with MidiOX and found that Reaper which worked consistently always sent the "Note Off" immediately after the note on. I adjusted my hex to be the following in BandHelper and it now works as expected:
9F 28 7F
8F 28 00

It doesn't say in the guides that this is needed but maybe it is obvious if someone knows more about midi than I do. If the app would work off of regular PC and CC that would have made it much friendlier - I've programmed our entire show to do that with 3 different fractals and all work fine with just a CC/PC. I am starting on some work in Go Monkey next to try to make my life easier on building sequences - especially when they are locked to a click track and I want the changes to happen based on measure/beat. If you have any suggestions on good tutorials on that I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!

Kevin

Post Reply

Return to “General Midi Controllers”