These adverts are supporting the forum's costs and the products/services are not endorsed by the forum owners.
First have you tried?
Log in to Search the Forum for help!
Learn more about using FreeStyler at the FreeStyler WIKI HERE
Learn more about DMX in General at The DMX Wiki HERE

if all else fails and you need a fixture consider the fixture building service HERE

Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Discussions concerning DMX gear in general.
Post Reply
tjw
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 4:08 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Theater

Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by tjw » August 21st, 2013, 7:11 pm

Hey I need some help:

I'm subbing for a friend, who's wife just went into labor, for a wedding on Saturday. He has a variety of non-DMX lights: Pin-spots, Small PAR cans, a couple strobes and a Chauvet color bank. He's using an elation 8 Channel patch box w/ interfaces with an 8 channel elation control box.

I noticed that the elation control box has a DMX jack in the back. Can I plug that into freestyler and use it to control the lights? If so ... how?



Thanks!



tjw



User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by Spirit » August 21st, 2013, 7:15 pm

hi

if you add some more info about the units he's using i can take a look..
URL , PDF, image...

/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

tjw
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 4:08 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Theater

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by tjw » August 22nd, 2013, 2:35 am

Spirit:
"Patch Box": Elation Professional 8 Channel Relay Pack.
"Control Box": SC-8 Elation Professional Pattern Stand By T16 Control buttons.

The lights are American DJ

Is that good?

tjw

User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by Spirit » August 22nd, 2013, 4:37 pm

hi
if i google i get the same results with both units..

and i dont see a 3pin or 5 pin XLR plug on them..

only on the SC-816 Controller i do see a XLR plug but its used for a Footswich...

/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

tjw
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 4:08 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Theater

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by tjw » August 22nd, 2013, 5:19 pm

Hey thanks anyway. For what it's worth, on the back on one side you have the interface cable (which looks just like printer cable). On the other side you have a 3 pin plug, next to the fuse. If that helps, thanks, if not, thanks anyway for running this down for me. I appreciate it.



tjw

tjw
Starting to get to grips with FreeStyler
Posts: 15
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 4:08 am
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.2
I Use FreeStyler for: Theater

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by tjw » August 22nd, 2013, 5:20 pm

Come to think of it, it is probably the XLR plug.

User avatar
Spirit
Pro Supporter! (Moderator)
Posts: 1418
Joined: July 10th, 2010, 8:55 pm
FreeStyler Version: 3.5.9
I Use FreeStyler for: Nightclub Lighting
Location: Nederland / Purmerend

Re: Elation patch/ control box non-dmx lights

Post by Spirit » August 22nd, 2013, 5:25 pm

yes the xlr is the 3-pin plug.. ;)

i also lookt if the D-SUB connetor worked on 0-10V but thats not the case.
otherwise you could used a Demultiplexer....

/spirit
AMD FX-6100 (3.6ghz)x6, Nvidia 770GTX 4GB, 8GB Ram,ROG MB, enttec Pro, Open enttec, Velleman, T2250MTS-B1 22"touchscreen, Ilyama 23" screen, scans, dimm, rgbled, laser, soundsystem Just a drive-in show. Live and Dance

Post Reply

Return to “Other DMX/Lighting questions”